Rogue John John Hazelnut (non-cask) is Vegan Friendly

by Rogue Ales
Address: 2320 OSU Drive
Newport, OR, 97365
USA
Phone: 541.867.3660
Fax: 541.867.3260
Email: http://www.rogue.com/about/contact-rogue.php
URL: http://www.rogue.com/
Checked by: Nicole
Double checked by: Michelle, Brian, Cassie, Kathy, Amanda
Added: over 4 years ago
Double Checked: about 2 months ago

Updated June 2016:
Jim from Rogue has confirmed that the chocolate used in their beers doesn't contain dairy.

Updated May 2016:
Products updated from the list at http://www.rogue.com/roguebeers/ based on their FAQ (http://www.rogue.com/faq/) statement "We do not use islinglass (finings, which are fish bladders) for our bottles and regular kegs of Rogue Ales, so yes, the regular commercial beers from Rogue are vegan friendly. Note, there are finings used for the cask conditioned firkins… which helps settle the beer in the cask."

The Double Chocolate Stout, Honey Kolsch, Marionberry Braggot contain honey.

The Voodoo Doughnut Maple Bacon Ale contains bacon.

The Voodoo Doughnut Lemon Chiffon Crueller Ale contains marshmallows, which contain gelatin unless they're vegan ones.

Mocha Porter, Voodoo Doughnut Chocolate, Peanut Butter & Banana Ale, Voodoo Doughnut Pretzel, Raspberry & Chocolate Ale, and Chocolate Stout all contain chocolate, and we're waiting to hear if it has dairy in it.

Company email (March 2012):
[Response to the standard Barnivore email; specifically regarding Dead Guy Ale]: "1. No. 2. No."

Kathy writes (December 2011):
"I recently looked up Rogue beer/ale. Barnivore stated that it is vegan with the exception of their Honey Wheat. This is almost a no-brainer, but I wanted to let you know that one of the ingredients listed on the label of Rogue Voodoo Doughnut Bacon Maple Ale is applewood smoked bacon. I'm pretty sure this is a new addition to their line but thought you may want to update Rogue's listing on the Barnivore site."

Company email (July 2011):
"Rogue products use no animal products with the
exception of one beer--Somer Orange Honey Wheat. We most likely will be discontinuing this product next year."

Nicole writes:
"I called today and can't remember who I talked to. She said that all of their filtered beers are filtered through diatomaceous earth, which she thought was not vegan.... I will accept DE as vegan personally, because it's millions of years old, but I didn't get into it with her.... She also said they have many unfiltered beers, but they make no guarantees, because they may need to run them through a light filter step as well.
She also said they make no guarantees that they might not choose later to use other animal based filtering methods."

Company email:
"Drink up! We are vegan-friendly.
Our Eugene City Brewery makes Honey Orange Wheat. The regular Rogue beers contain no honey."

Company email:
"Hi Brian, thank you for your kind thoughts! Not to worry, our beers are all vegan. The only exception to that is if you were to come across our beer in a "firkin" or English cask. Those are fined with isinglass. That is the ONLY time though so feel free to drink up! ;-)"

Other products by Rogue Ales: