Ask a company

Barnivore relies on input from readers like you to check (and double check!) with your favourite drink makers to see what's in their products.

Please use email to contact companies. We know Twitter's cool, but it doesn't archive the same way and we've found that 140 characters isn't enough to get a reliable answer. If a company isn't responding to mail, tweet to tell them to check it, but we won't accept Tweets as official answers at this time.

Checking with a company is simple. All you need to do is send them an email with one of our standard questions (see below) and forward us the response so we can add it to the list and help the rest of the world enjoy vegan drinks!

If you get a response that isn't awesome, please (politely!) let them know how you feel! We've got a sample response you can use here.

Along with your submission, be sure to include the Company's name, mailing address, email and phone number so we can make your update faster. Seriously, finding that stuff sometimes takes longer than emailing the company in the first place, and we get a lot of submissions, so this will really help us out! If you are submitting a "double check" to a company that already exists on Barnivore, then don't worry about it!

The Question

Here's the Standard Question we prefer everyone uses:

English:

Hi, I'm helping to update an online directory of vegan-friendly alcohol, and I was hoping you could provide some information about [BRAND NAME].

Does [BRAND NAME] contain any animal ingredients (such as milk, eggs, honey, etc) or are animal products used in the processing/filtration of the product (such as isinglass, gelatin, etc)?

Also, is your product manufactured or bottled anywhere else in the world (by a sub-licensee, for instance) that might use a different processing system, thus making them unsuitable for vegans?

Thanks,

[YOUR NAME]

French:

Bonjour,

J'aide présentement à la mise à jour d'un répertoire en ligne de boissons alcoolisées végétaliennes et je me demande si vous pouviez me donner de l'information au sujet de vos produits ([PRODUCT 1, PRODUCT 2, PRODUCT 3.])

Est-ce que vos produits contiennent quelque ingrédient d'origine animale (comme du lait, des oeufs, du miel, etc.) ou est-ce qu'un quelconque produit d'origine animale est utilisé dans la fabrication/filtration des produits (par exemple : du ichtyocolle, de la gélatine, etc.)?

Je vous remercie.

[YOUR NAME]

(Thanks to Monique for the French translation!)

Spanish:

Hola, estoy ayudando a actualizar una base de datos en el Internet sobre bebidas alcohólicas que los vegetarianos y los veganos pueden tomar y me preguntaba si usted me podría dar información sobre su [BRAND NAME]

Su producto, [BRAND NAME], ¿contiene ingredientes provenientes de los animales como leche, huevos, cualquier carne animal o, tal vez, miel? En el proceso de la filtración, ¿han usado otros productos provenientes de los animales como gelatina, huesos carbonizados (bone char) o ictiocola (que viene del pescado)? ¿Cuáles son los ingredientes de su [BRAND NAME]?

Muchas gracias por su tiempo y le agradezco de antemano su respuesta.

Sinceramente,

[YOUR NAME]

(Thanks to Georgina and Laura for the Spanish translation!)

Danish:

Goddag,

jeg hjælper med til at opdatere en online-guide til veganer-venlig alkohol, og jeg håber at I kan hjælpe med noget information vedrørende [PRODUCT NAME].

Indeholder [PRODUCT NAME] nogle animalske produkter (som f.eks. mælk, æg, honning eller lignende) eller indgår animalske produkter i fremstillingen/filtreringen af produktet (som f.eks. husblas, gelatine eller lignende)?

På forhånd tak,

[YOUR NAME]

(Thanks to Peter for the Danish translation!)

German:

We've got two versions of the German question. This one's from Linda:

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,

ich helfe dabei, ein Verzeichnis fuer vegane Getraenke zu erstellen und zu aktualisieren. Hierfuer bitte ich Sie, mir einige Informationen ueber [BRAND OR PRODUCT NAME] zu geben.

Beinhaltet Ihr Getraenk tierische Zutaten (z.B. Milch, Ei, Honig)?
Werden während des Herstellungsprozesses tierische Produkte als Hilfsstoffe benutzt (z.B. Gelatine vom Schwein/Rind bzw. Hausenblase vom Fisch zur Filtration oder Aktivkohle auf tierischer Basis zur Schoenfaerbung von Zucker)?
Werden zur Etikettierung tierische Hilfsstoffe verwendet (z.B. kaseinhaltiger Leim)?

Vielen Dank für Ihre Unterstützung im Voraus.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

[YOUR NAME]

Die Webseite mit den aufgelisteten Getraenken finden Sie unter www.barnivore.com

...And this one's from Ingrid and Martina:

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,

ich helfe dabei ein Verzeichnis fuer veganische Lebensmittel zu erstellen. Hierfuer bitte ich Sie mir einige Informationen ueber Ihr Produkt zu geben.

Beinhaltet Ihr Bier/Wein/Alkohol tierische Zutaten (wie Milch, Eier, Honig usw.) oder werden bei der Herstellung tierische Produkte z.B. zur Filtration benutzt (Gelantine, Fischleim, Blut, oder andere tierische Produkte)?

Vielen Dank im Voraus.

Mit freundlichen Gruessen

[YOUR NAME]

Portuguese:

Olá. Estou ajudando a atualizar uma base de dados na internet sobre bebidas alcoólicas que vegetarianos e veganos podem consumir, e gostaria de saber se você poderia me fornecer informações sobre a [BRAND NAME].

Seu produto, [BRAND NAME], contém ingredientes de origem animal como leite, ovos, qualquer tipo de carne ou mel? No processo de filtração, são utilizados outros produtos provenientes de animais como gelatina, osso carbonizados (bone char) ou cola de peixe (isinglass - obtido do esturjão)?

Muito obrigado.

[YOUR NAME]

(Thanks to Tiago for the Portuguese translation!)

Italian:

Salve,

sto contribuendo all'aggiornamento di un elenco online di prodotti alcolici adatti a vegetariani e spero che possiate fornirmi qualche informazione a proposito di [PRODUCT NAME].

Vorrei sapere se [PRODUCT NAME] contiene ingredienti animali di qualche tipo (per esempio latte, uova, miele, ecc.), e se per la sua produzione vengono usati prodotti di derivazione animale per il trattamento o il filtraggio (per esempio caseina, colla di pesce/isinglass, gelatina, ecc.).

Grazie per la cortese attenzione,

cordiali saluti

[YOUR NAME]

(Thanks to Marco for the Italian translation!)

Hebrew:

שלום, אני חלק מצוות שמעדכן מאגר אינטרנטי של משקאות חריפים שמתאימים לטבעונים או צמחונים, וקיוויתי שתוכלו לספק לי מידע על [BRAND NAME].

האם ב[BRAND NAME] מצויים רכיבים מן החי (כגון חלב, ביצים, דבש וכד') או האם נעשה בהם שימוש בתהליכי עיבוד או סינון של המוצר (כגון איזינגלס, ג'לטין וכד')?

בנוסף, אשמח לדעת האם במקום אחר בעולם, יכול להיות שהמוצר שלכם מעובד בצורה שונה?

בתודה,

[YOUR NAME]

(Thanks to Nir, Tal, and Sami for the Hebrew translation!)

Dutch:

Goedendag, op dit moment help ik een online bestand van veganistisch vriendelijke alcohol up to date te maken. Graag zou ik u willen vragen of u mij wat informatie kunt verstrekken over [BRAND NAME].

Bevat [BRAND NAME] dierlijke ingrediënten (zoals melk, eieren, honing enz. ) of zijn er dierlijke producten gebruikt in het maakproces of filtratie van het product ( zoals vislijm, gelatine, enz. )?

En is uw product ergens anders op de wereld vervaardigd ( bijvoorbeeld door een sublicentiehouder ) die het product op een andere manier zou kunnen produceren?

Graag hoor ik van u!

Met vriendelijke groet

[YOUR NAME]

(Thanks to Avital, Carmen and Sami for the Dutch translation!)

Swedish:

Hej!

Jag hjälper till att fylla på en online-guide till vegan-vänlig alkohol och skulle uppskatta din hjälp rörande (PRODUCT NAME HERE).

Innehåller (PRODUCT NAME HERE) några animaliska produkter (exempelvis ägg, mjölk, honung osv) eller används animaliska produkter i framställningen/filtreringen av produkten (såsom husbloss, gelatin osv)?

Utöver detta så undrar jag även om produkten tillverkas på fler än en plats, och om tillverkningssätten kan skilja sig?

Tack på förhand,

(YOUR NAME HERE)

(Thanks to David for the Swedish translation!)

Finnish:

Hei!

Autan päivittämään internethakemistoa, johon on kerätty tietoa vegaanisista alkoholijuomista. Toivoisinkin, että voisitte tarjota lisätietoa [COMPANY NAME] tuotteista.

Sisältääkö [PRODUCT NAME] minkäänlaisia eläinperäisiä ainesosia (kuten maitoa, kananmunaa, hunajaa tms.) tai käytetäänkö eläinperäisiä ainesosia (esimerkiksi gelatiinia, kalaliimaa tai vastaavaa) [PRODUCT NAME] valmistamisessa tai suodattamisessa?

Lisäksi haluaisin tietää, että valmisetaanko [PRODUCT NAME] missään muualla maailmassa (esimerkiksi alihankkijasopimuksella), käyttäen erilaisia valmistusmenetelmiä?

Ystävällisin terveisin,

(YOUR NAME HERE)

(Thanks to Johanna for the Finnish translation!)

Norwegian:

Hei!

Jeg hjelper til med å fylle ut en guide til vegan-vennlig alkohol på nettet og håper du kan gi informasjon om [BRAND NAME].

Inneholder [BRAND NAME] noen animalske produkter (som feks. melk, egg, honning, osv.) eller blir animalske produkter brukt under fremstillingen eller filtreringen av produktet (som feks. husbloss/isinglass, gelatin, osv.)?

I tillegg lurer jeg på om produktet deres fremstilles andre steder, og om de kanskje gjør det på en annen måte enn dere?

På forhånd takk,

[YOUR NAME]

(Thanks to Per for the Norwegian translation!)

The Response

If the company responds that everything's vegan friendly, be sure to thank them and let them know how important this is to you!

If, on the other hand, the company isn't totally vegan friendly, it can help to send them a polite reminder. Here's an example you can use:

Thank you for the response. I am very disappointed to hear that you use animal products in your products. While I understand that these ingredients may not be present in the final product, I wish to avoid products that use these ingredients at all, as do many others.

My understanding is that there are fining alternatives that do not utilize animal products, as evidenced by the wide variety of vegan-friendly companies listed on http://www.barnivore.com. Many wineries, breweries, and distillers are now using these techniques, and I would encourage you to look into these alternatives so that we can enjoy your wines in the future.

(Thanks to Jennifer for the idea and the initial draft of this response!)

...and the response in French (thanks, Adam!)

IF THE PRODUCTS AREN'T VEGAN:

Merci beaucoup pour la réponse. Je suis très déçu d'entendre que vous utilisez des produits d'origine animale dans vos produits. Bien que je comprenne que ces ingrédients peuvent ne pas être présents dans le produit final, je tiens à éviter les produits qui utilisent ces ingrédients à tous, comme beaucoup d'autres.

Ma compréhension est qu'il existe des alternatives qui n'utilisent pas de produits d'origine animale, comme en témoigne le grand nombre de produit cotées sur http://www.barnivore.com; une société végétalien. De nombreuses caves, brasseries et distilleries utilisent maintenant ces techniques, et je vous encourage à examiner ces solutions de rechange afin que nous puissions profiter de vos produits dans l'avenir.

Mes salutations distinguées

[YOUR NAME]

IF THE PRODUCTS ARE VEGAN:

Merci beaucoup pour la réponse. Il me plaît beaucoup à apprendre que votre produit est végétaliens. Je me réjouis que je suis capable de jouir de vos produits.

Mes salutations distinguées

[YOUR NAME]

...and in Italian (thanks, Jan!)

Grazie per la sua risposta. Mi dispiace molto apprendere che usate prodotti animali nei vostri prodotti. Mentre capisco che questi ingredienti potrebbero non essere presenti nel prodotto finale, desidero evitare completamente tutti i prodotti che usano questi ingredienti, come anche molte altre persone.

Credo che esistano metodi di processazione alternativi che non usano prodotti animali, come si puo' vedere nella grande varieta' di compagnie vegetaliane elencate su http:///www.barnivore.com. Molti vigneti, birrerie e distillerie adesso usano queste tecniche, e vorrei incoraggiarla ad informarsi su queste alternative, cosi che noi tutti possiamo godere dei suoi prodotti nel futuro.

...and in Spanish (thanks, Brendan!)

Gracias por la respuesta. Me decepciona que usen los productos animales en sus productos. Aunque entiendo que es probable que estos ingredientes no quedén en el producto final, yo prefiero evitar todos los productos que usan tales ingredientes en cualquier manera, y mucha gente más también.

Tengo entendido que hay alternativas para clarificar que no usan productos animales, según se evidencia en la gran diversidad de compañías citadas por http://barnivore.com. Muchas bodegas, muchas cervecerías y muchas destilerías ya usan tales técnicas, y a ustedes les aconsejo investigar estas alternativas para que nosotros podemos disfrutar de sus vinos [um...just wines? "cervezas, licores"] en el futuro.

...and in Portuguese (thanks, Tiago!)

Obrigado pela resposta. Fiquei muito desapontado em saber que vocês usam ingredientes animais em seus produtos. Ainda que eu entenda que esses ingredientes possam não fazer parte do produto final, eu prefiro evitar produtos que façam qualquer uso desses ingredientes, assim como muita gente também.

Aprendi que existem alternativas de refinação que não utilizam produtos animais, como pode ser conferido pela grande variedade de companhias listadas em http://www.barnivore.com. Muitas vinícolas, cervejarias e destilarias já utilizam essas técnicas, e eu te aconselho investigar essas alternativas para que nós possamos consumir suas bebidas no futuro.

...and in German (thanks, Nico!)

Vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung. Ich bedauere es sehr zu hören, dass tierische Produkte für Ihre Getränke verwendet werden. Obwohl mir bewusst ist, dass diese Zutaten nichtmehr im Endprodukt enthalten sind, versuche ich, sowie viele andere, sie vollständig zu vermeiden.

Meines Wissens nach existieren Alternativen zur Klärung, die keinerlei tierische Produkte verwenden, wie dies allein durch die große Bandbreite vegan-freundlicher Unternehmen, die auf http://www.barnivore.com aufgelistet sind, deutlich wird. Diese Techniken werden bereits von vielen Weinkellereien, Brauereien und Destillerien benutzt - und ich möchte Sie dazu anregen, dies auch zu tun, damit unnötiges Tierleid in der Zukunft vermieden wird und wir Ihre Produkte genießen können.

...and in Finnish (thanks, Johanna!)

Kiitos vastauksestanne. On kovin ikävää kuulla, että käytätte eläinperäisiä ainesosia tuotteidenne valmistuksessa. Vaikka valmiissa tuotteessa niitä ei olisikaan, haluan monien muiden ohella välttää sellaisia tuotteita, joiden valmistuksessa eläinperäisiä ainesosia ylipäätään käytetään.

Ymmärtääkseni on olemassa useita sellaisia vaihtoehtoisia valmistustekniikoita, joissa eläinperäisiä tuotteita ei käytetä. Osoituksena vegaanisten valmistustapojen laajamittaisesta käytöstä ovat http://www.barnivore.com -sivustolle listatut esimerkilliset viinitilat, olutpanimot ja tislaamot, joiden tuotteet ovat vegaanisia.

Haluaisin rohkaista myös Teitä tutustumaan näihin valmistustapoihin, jotta voimme nauttia tuotteistanne tulevaisuudessa.