Warsteiner Dunkel is Vegan Friendly

by Warsteiner
Phone: +49 (0)2902 - 88 5005
URL: http://www.warsteiner-usa.com
Checked by: Rick
Double checked by: C Bagley, Patrick, Jeremy, Yannic
Added: about 3 years ago
Double Checked: 11 months ago

Company email (July 2018)
"Zu Ihrer Information können wir Ihnen mitteilen, dass wir in keinem unserer Produktionsschritte irgendwelche tierischen Bestandteile einsetzen und auch unsere Rohstoffe keine enthalten. Dies wird sogar regelmäßig überprüft, da wir u. a. im Rahmen der Abgabe von Nebenprodukten (z. B. Biertreber) zu einem Spurennachweis auf das Nichtvorhandensein tierischer Bestandteile verpflichtet sind. Unsere Produkte enthalten demnach noch nicht einmal Spuren von tierischen Produkten und sind demnach für eine vegane Ernährungsweise geeignet.

"Allerdings machen wir zu den Inhaltsstoffen des in unserem Haus verwendeten Etikettenleims bei Glasgebinden darauf aufmerksam, dass hier zum Teil Anteile an Casein enthalten sind, die aus Kuhmilch gewonnen werden. Eine komplette Umstellung auf caseinfreie Etikettenklebstoffe wird bis Ende 2018 erfolgt sein."

[Google translation: "
For your information, we can inform you that we do not use any animal ingredients in any of our production steps, nor do we contain our raw materials. This is even regularly checked, since we u. a. in the context of the supply of by-products (eg beer grains) to a trace evidence on the absence of animal ingredients are required. Accordingly, our products do not even contain traces of animal products and are therefore suitable for a vegan diet.

"However, we point out to the ingredients of the label glue used in our house in glass containers that some of casein contained here, which are derived from cow's milk. A complete switch to casein-free label adhesives will be completed by the end of 2018."

[For more on label glue, see http://www.barnivore.com/faq#glue]

Jeremy notes (June 2016):
"Just wanted to let you know that Warsteiner Grapefruit is not vegan friendly (contains cochineal extract)."

Company email (May 2013):
"We confirm that our products which are available in the USA do not contain any animal components. We can also confirm that our products do not contain lactose."

Carmine is listed as an ingredient in the (only the) orange beer mixes.

Company email:
"Thank you for your interest and support of Warsteiner. It's funny you should ask this question because I had just recently received a similar question and to be honest, I did not know the correct answer. I emailed the brewery directly and was informed that Warsteiner does NOT use Isinglass, gelatin, or bone char when filtering our products.

Additionally, no dairy (egg or honey) is used during the brewing process.

In fact, Warsteiner adheres to the German Purity Law of 1516 which states that beers can only be brewed using 4 products (water, yeast, hops and barley-malt). When the 4 products are combined properly, a natural fermentation process occurs and beer is made."

Other products by Warsteiner: