Espiral Vinho Verde Wine is Not Vegan Friendly

by Trader Joe's
Address: 26717 Palmetto Ave.
Redlands, California, 92374
Checked by: Tiffany
Double checked by: Brett, Emily, Jean, Michael, Rifka, Jennifer, Suzie, Susan, Spencer, Betsy, Michael, Eric, Whisky Water, Laura, Ally, Jennifer, Arlo, Dan, Cristina, Shannon, Jared, Donna, Ab, Kasey, Britton, Victoria, Claudia, Shannon, Chris, Quinton, Jennifer, Kyla
Added: about 10 years ago
Double Checked: over 1 year ago

Company email (June 2021)
"he Love, Olivia Wines are vegan friendly and manufactured in the United States."

Company email (June 2021)
"The Barrel Heist Cabernet Sauvignon is vegan."

Company email (March 2021)
"La Sonriente Garnacha Wine is confirmed as being vegan. I have also attached a list of vegan wines."

Company email (March 2021)
"De Mont Coteaux Varois en Provence Rose (made with organic grapes) is confirmed as being vegan (no fining agent)."

Company email (August 2020)
"Our Block Pinot Grigio Wine is considered Vegan."

Company email (November 2019)
"The Grower's Reserve Merlot 2017 wine is vegan."

Company email (August 2019) re Espiral Vinho Verde
"One of the fining agents used for the Espiral Vinho Verde is casein. Casein is a milk protein, therefore if you do have a dairy allergy, we recommend not consuming this product."

Company email (June 2019)
"All of our Charles Shaw Wine varieties are vegan."

Company email (November 2018)
"The Liberte Cabernet is vegan, as there is no fining agent used."

Company email (September 2018)
"The Vinas Chilenas Chardonnay, Rose, Sauv Blanc and Pinot Noir are all vegan wines."

Company email (September 2018)
"Thank you for contacting us! [Drive Thru Red Beer] is vegan."

Company email (June 2018)
"...our Charles Shaw Organic Wines are indeed vegan suitable, so we do hope you enjoy!"

Company email (February 2018)
"The Wish Flower White Wine is indeed vegan and is packaged and produced in the United States."

Company email (October 2017)
[sent list of vegan beer]

Company email (July 2017)
[In response to inquiries about Moon X and Le Pepin Pinot Noir 2015]
"This wine is not vegan."

Company email (July 2017)
"The Simpler Wines are NOT vegan, as isinglass (fish bladder) is used as a fining agent."

Company email (March 2017):
"We are pleased to let you know that our Villa Alena Moscato is in fact vegan."

Company email (January 2017):
"Our Trader Joe's Block Cabernet Sauvignon is not vegan."

Company email (January 2017):
"we can assure you that our Pancake Cellars Big Day White Wine is indeed verified vegan."

Company email (July 2016):
"our Trader Joe's Blanc de Blancs French Sparkling Wine is vegan!"

Company email (February 2015):
Our Trader Joe's Block Wine Red Shiraz is Vegan, therefore no animal ingredients are used during the refining process.

Note from Eric (November 2014):
"Their other red, Monastrell, is now also marked vegan on the back label, as of the 2013 vintage."

Note from Eric (July 2014):
"Albero Tempranillo (Spain) is marked 'Vegan' on the back label. (As is Albero Rose.) Apparently it is only sold in the U.S. at Trader Joe's. I've been buying the 2012 and 2013 and they are also labeled vegan."

Company email (May 2014): re: Espiral Vinho Verde Wine
"The must is clarified through cold centrifuge. The yeast used for this wine is a proprietary strain. Unfortunately the information on composition is not available, since we have other wines made at the winery we cannot guarantee that this wine has not come into contact with animal products. For example the plants that process peanuts are bad for people that have food allergies. Then perhaps it’s not best for you to consume this product."

Company email (May 2014):
"We are pleased to let you know that all of our Charles Shaw wines are, in fact, vegan!"

Company email (January 2014): re: Trader Joe's Babble Red Wine
"In response, there are no animal derived ingredients, fining agents or sources used in the processing/production of this product. Therefore, it would indeed be suitable for our vegan customers."

Company email (June 2013): [regarding Trader Joe's Petite Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley]
"Unfortunately, this is not a vegan wine, as animal-based fining agents are used."

Company email (June 2013): [regarding Trader Joe's Reserve Chardonnay Napa Valley 2012]
"To answer your question, this wine is vegan - no animal products are used in its processing."

Company email (March 2013):
"The Honey Moon Viognier is produced at one winery location only. Currently our 2012 vintage Honey Moon Viognier does not contain any animal products; however, we have used ingredients such as gelatin, milk, and isinglass in the production of previous vintages. Winemaking reserves the right to add any of these ingredients during the processing to maintain style and quality throughout the year."

Company email (December 2012):
"In response, to your inquiry regarding our possible vegan wine options, we are enclosing a list of possible vegan wine selections below:

Bonterra-Whites are vegan
Castle Rock-All are vegan
Charles Shaw-Reds are vegan *occasionally gelatin is used in the whites' refining processes, but that it is removed from the end product
Cline Cellars-All are vegan
Fetzer-Whites are vegan
Georges Dubeouf-All are vegan
Kendall Jackson-Whites are vegan
Rosenblum Cellars-All are vegan"

Company email (April 2012):
"To answer your question, all of our Vola wines are, indeed, vegan, as no animal ingredients are used and no fining agents are used either. All of our wines under our label are manufactured by a single supplier, so we do not allow any sub-licensing of our products."

Company email, December 2011:
"No animal products are used in the Found Object Carmenere. When there is no fining agent, there is no chance of an animal by product."

Company email about Green Barn Wines, Aug 28 2011:
"These wines are not considered vegan, as they
are processed with benito, which is animal based. These wine are not produced or licensed by any other winery or bottler."

Company Email ( about Green Fin which is sold at Trader Joe's. Also see: Bronco Wines

"I am the winemaker for Green Fin. After reviewing your questions, I can insure you that Green Fin is vegan friendly, no animal products were used. Further, to my knowledge Green Fin is not sub-licensed."

Company email: April 2010
"Below you will find a list of Vegan Friendly wines.

Brand Types
Bonterra Whites are vegan
Castle Rock All are vegan
Charles Shaw Reds are vegan occasionally gelatin is used in the whites' refining processes, but that it is removed from the end product
Cline Cellars All are vegan
Fetzer Whites are vegan
Georges Dubeou All are vegan
Kendall Jackson Whites are vegan
Rosenblum Cellars All are vegan"

Company email: Feb 2011
"Our Trader Joe's Charles Shaw Red Wine varieties are Vegan. The white wine variety are occasionally processed with gelatin."

Other products by Trader Joe's: