LBD Vineyards has some vegan options
|Double checked by:||AngelA, Marliss, Mariliz|
|Added:||almost 6 years ago|
|Double Checked:||almost 5 years ago|
Products by LBD Vineyards:
Not Vegan Friendly
Company Email: March 2011
"We use organic egg whites in the fining process of our red wines. However, our white wines are free of any animal products and are vegan friendly. (In the past, on a rare occasion when we had trouble clarifying a wine, our winemakers would use a combination of bentonite, gelatin and Kieselsol, but it is not our standard practice.) Beyond that, our white wines do not use any animal by-products, such as isinglass.):
Company Email: Jan 2011
"We do use organic egg whites in the fining process of our red wines. (No insinglass, etc.) However, our white wines are free of any animal products and are vegan friendly.
Ages ago, it was discovered that egg whites added to wine would aid in removing unwanted tannins. This 'tannin fining' process is used to improve the flavor of red wines by limiting the astringency caused by the tannins. The egg whites settle to the bottom and are then filtered out. All residue of the egg whites is removed from the wine. "
Company Email for Little Black Dress.
"In years past, we did use a fining process on white wines that included gelatin. Although we don't currently use that practice, I could not guarantee that we would never use it again. Also, in place of egg whites, we have used gelatin in some of our red wines, but again, this is a rare."