Oliver Wines has some vegan options
|Address:||8024 N. State Road 37
Bloomington, Indiana, 47404
|Double checked by:||Amity, Louanna|
|Added:||almost 8 years ago|
|Double Checked:||about 1 month ago|
Products by Oliver Wines:
Not Vegan Friendly
Not Vegan Friendly
Company email (April 2016):
"A couple of things that we do know for sure, we haven’t used milk product casein in several years, but we did use it this year on our Soft White to remove color, and we always use gelatin on the Soft White. Without going through our complete wine list, the only wine that we can say is absolutely Vegan is the Hard Cider. More than likely most, if not all, of the dry reds, but we cannot confirm those absolutely as they sometimes contain a small amount of something that may have had gelatin. Our Orchard Stand Collection and Mead contain honey. Our white wines, Soft Red, Soft Rosé, Sangria and Chambourcin Rosé all use gelatin as a fining agent.
"So at this time, the only wine we can say for sure is Vegan is the Hard Cider."
Company Email (circa 2010):
"We do use animal products in several of our wines on as needed basis to fine out unwanted tannins. Some wines tend to get gelatin, an animal derived product, and some wines tend to get egg albumin, an egg product. I assume that products with gelatin would not be acceptable, but products containing egg whites would be okay. Is that correct? Please let me know and then I can advise you on which wines are okay.
Also, our cider, blackberry and honey wines are all vegetarian.
Listed below are our current vegetarian wines-
2005 Shiraz Reserve
Bean Blossom Hard Cider
SkyDog Red, White, and Rose
Harvest Flavors Strawberry, Mango, and Black Cherry
Wine composition does change from year to year as necessary. For example our 2007 Zinfandel may not be vegetarian even though the 06 bottling of zinfandel is. That said, typically for our wines, whites and roses receive treatment with gelatin, dry reds and chardonel frequently do not receive gelatin treatment, and I am not aware of having treated the honey and fruit wines with gelatin ever (but that could change).
Please feel free to ask again as necessary for the upcoming seasons."
"Our wines are not vegan friendly. Thank you for thinking of us."