Wolf Blass Winery is NOT vegan friendly
|Address:||97 Sturt Highway
Nuriootpa, South Australia
|Phone:||(08) 8568 7311|
|Double checked by:||Andrea, Rebecca, Joanna|
|Added:||over 8 years ago|
|Double Checked:||about 1 month ago|
Products by Wolf Blass Winery:
Not Vegan Friendly
Company email (December 2016):
"When considering what fining agents we use we are governed by the FSANZ Standard 4.5.1 Wine Production requirements. Allowable processing aids include milk and milk products, egg white and isinglass (fish).
"Egg white – used for softening wines with a high tannin content and excess astringency
Milk and Casein – has a ‘refreshing’ effect on colour and flavour. Affects phenols either by eliminating them or more likely by protecting them from oxidation.
Isinglass – clarifying agent, enhances brilliance (no longer widely used)
"Carbon fining is used however carbon removes colour, which is not always desirable.
Bentonite fining is used as a heat stabilising agent. It removes proteins that can cause a haze, however it also strips out flavour. Consequently it is only used in white wines and red wines where it is commercially unacceptable for a haze to form.
"Limestone and Kaolin clay are not permitted processing aids.
Plant casein is produced in an insufficient quantity for use, thus extremely expensive.
"Silicone dioxide is a permitted additive however not used as it is difficult to handle and other processing aids out perform it.
"Plant proteins are approved for use, however the efficacy of particular proteins is variable and the introduction of an unwanted taint has been shown in trials.
Various processing aids and fining agents have the potential to introduce an unwanted taint or colour modification (such as browning). Cost is one small part of the consideration, the main consideration being whether it is on the FSANZ permitted list. Other major considerations are the efficacy and possible taint introduction."
Company email, October 2011
[Actually, pretty much the same as the May 2010 one. Note that we've got some older vintages in an earlier mail below that are apparently vegan friendly, but we've flagged this record as overall non-vegan since we're primarily concerned with what's available in your typical store or restaurant, which would be more current vintages. -Jason]
Company Email via email@example.com. May 2010
"It would depend on what type of vegetarian you are to determine if our wines are suitable for you, however we do not recommend any of our wine for vegans due to the possibility that the wine has been clarified with fining agents such as egg albumin, casein, gelatin and isinglass. "
Company email via firstname.lastname@example.org
Many of our wines are fined using milk products (casein), egg products (albumen) and fish products (isinglass).
Fining is the process undertaken to remove proteins and phenolics in the wine, which cloud the wine and may give it an undesirable bitterness. At
the end of the process the wine is filtered or centrifuged and the fining agent removed from the wine however traces may remain.
The following wines (vintage specific) have been produced without the aid or addition of animal derived products and may be enjoyed by Vegans
Red Label Frontignac Traminer 2004
Grey Label Shiraz 2005
Gold Label Shiraz 2004 / 2005 / 2006
Gold Label Pinot Noir 2005
Gold Label Pinot Noir Chardonnay Sparkling 2004
Gold Label Chardonnay 2005 / 2007
Gold Label Shiraz Viognier 2005
Gold Label Riesling 2005 / 2006
Gold Label Pinot Gris 2004
Gold Label Sauvignon Blanc 2005 / 2006
Black label Shiraz 2004
Should you have any further enquiry, please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations team on 1300 651 650 (Australia).