Whitehall Lane Winery is NOT vegan friendly
|Address:||1563 St Helena Hwy S
St Helena, CA, 94574
|Double checked by:|
|Added:||about 2 years ago|
Products by Whitehall Lane Winery:
Not Vegan Friendly
Company email (May 2014):
"To answer your question simply the answer is yes, we as an industry do use animal ingredients during much of the wine making process. I understand that this has become a concern for much of the vegan and the vegetarian groups out there in the country, because of this a lot of research has been done to test and see what actually makes it through the filtration and thus ending up in the bottle. The fact is almost zero of what we use makes it through the process. Both egg whites, lysozymes and others help us clarify the wines helping them last longer in the cellar. I understand that a lot of people want nothing to do with harming a living creature and I respect that, but we do use these process at our winery, and to be honest I do not know a single winery in the county that doesn't.
As for the bottling line, no we we are very lucky to have our own. We do everything in house and at the top of our industry. However, most small wineries will bring importable bottling lines to their properties to bottle as it saves them a huge chunk of money. We do import our glass and our corks but source the labels locally."