Campo Viejo is NOT vegan friendly

Address: Camino de Lapuebla 50, 26006
Logro
Spain
Phone: +34 941 279900
Fax: +34 941 279901
Email:
URL: http://www.campoviejo.com/
Checked by: Jen
Double checked by: Michele
Added: about 4 years ago
Double Checked: 18 days ago

Products by Campo Viejo:

Barnivore note (January 2018): Campo Viejo is owned by Pernod Ricard, a major funder of bullfighting.

Company email (January 2018)
"...Pernod Ricard Winemakers may use milk, egg, and/or gelatine as processing aids during the winemaking process for some of its wines... Accordingly, some vegetarians/vegans may consider them unsuitable for consumption."

Company email (November 2013):
"Campo Viejo will use skim milk/caseinate and egg white for fining of wines (which are not excluded for a vegetarian diet). These materials are fully removed from wines due to subsequent clarification processes and are no longer detectable using best practice analysis techniques. Red wines will generally only be fined with egg white, white wines only with skim milk/caseinate.

Occasionally winemakers may use gelatine, which as such will not be suitable for vegetarians. However, as with milk and egg white, it is expected that gelatine will be completely removed from the finished wine in question (only used for white wine)

To summarise – all of the egg white / milk or gelatine can be used for fining of the wine. These ingredients are removed from the wine at a later stage of the wine making process. Although these ingredients are removed – we cannot guarantee they are 100% removed. In additional to this – some vegetarian may decide even if the gelatine (which will come from an animal) is 100% removed it nevertheless has had contact with the finished product.

It is for this reason we declare that Campo Viejo wines are not suitable for a Vegetarian or Vegan diet."