Bonny Doon Vineyard is vegan friendly

Address: PO Box 8376
Santa Cruz, CA, 95061
USA
Phone: 831-425-6740
Fax: 831-425-3856
Email: megm@bonnydoonvineyard.com
URL: http://BonnyDoonVineyard.com
Checked by: Kristin
Double checked by: Rick, Company contacted us!, Dana
Added: over 7 years ago
Double Checked: over 3 years ago

Products by Bonny Doon Vineyard:

Company email (January 2011):
"All Bonny Doon wines are currently vegan; we use no animal products in the winemaking process. Some wineries use albumin, milk, or isinglass as fining agents to clarify their wines, but we currently use only bentonite clay.
We don't rule out the possibility of using these ingredients if a particular wine in a particular vintage really needed this treatment. However, our winery pioneered ingredient labeling, so if we ever did choose to use them, we would disclose the items used on the back label. (As you're probably aware, wineries are not required to list ingredients.)
You may be interested in this article on vegan wines that was published last week:
http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/wine/vegan-wine-what-is-it-and-how-can-i-find-vegan-wines--136676
The article specifically names Bonny Doon Vineyard as a vegan-friendly winery."

Company Email:
"Bonny Doon Vineyard does not use any animal ingredients in our winemaking practices, and have not for at least five years. We use bentonite in the fining process, but not isinglass, milk, or albumin. While we don't rule out the possibility of using these if a wine truly needed it (each vintage presents its separate challenges), but if we were to use any, we would include them in our full-disclosure ingredient labeling on the back label."

Company Email (June 2007):
"Even though we try to be as ethical as viticultually possible, I'm sorry to say, our wines are for the most part not vegan.

Some of our red wines may be vegan as we normally do not filter or fine our reds. However, there are instances when we use either skim milk or egg whites as fining agents to remove microscopic particles that could cloud the wines. But to be on the safe side, our wines overall cannot be guaranteed vegan.

Some of our red wines may be vegan as we normally do not filter or fine our reds. However, there are instances when we use either skim milk or egg whites as fining agents to remove microscopic particles that could cloud the wines. But to be on the safe side, our wines overall cannot be guaranteed vegan.
Company email:
Even though we try to be as ethical as viticultually possible, our wines are for the most part not vegan."