Stag's Leap Wine Cellars is NOT vegan friendly

Address: 5766 Silverado Trail
Napa, CA, 94558
USA
Phone: 707-944-2020
Fax:
Email: CustomerService@cask23.com
URL: www.cask23.com
Checked by: April
Double checked by: AngelA, Dawn, Valerie
Added: almost 4 years ago
Double Checked: 4 months ago

Products by Stag's Leap Wine Cellars:

Company email (May 2014):
"Casein -
I asked our wine making staff about Casein. We do occasionally use products that contain Casein as part of our fining process. Although the choice of fining agent varies with both varietal and vintage and is removed by filtering after its use, we can not guarantee that any of our wines are Casein free.

Egg Whites-
Our wines are sometimes fined with egg whites or albumen. Although the choice of fining agent varies with both varietal and vintage and is removed by filtering after its use, we can not guarantee that any of our wines are free of egg white proteins.

Vegan -
We use materials that are TTB and OIV approved for wine making and only when we feel it is indicated to enhance a product. Some of these materials are derived from animal sources. Although they are used selectively and may not have been used in all of our wines, we can not claim to be vegan."

Company email (July 2012):
"We do not recommend any of our wines for vegetarians or vegans due to the possibility that the wine has been clarified with fining agents such as egg albumin, casein, gelatin and isinglass. The winemakers decide on which fining agents are used and these may vary from product to product and even batch to batch (usually depending on the grapes of that particular year). It is important to note that despite fining agents being used during the winemaking process, they are removed prior to bottling. In addition, all of our wines are gluten free and the products we use to make our wines, such as yeast, fining agents, filters and barrels are also gluten free."

Company email:
"I asked our winemaker about the white wines specifically. We may use either the egg whites or the isinglass for the whites, depending on which the winemaker feels will best meet the needs for the finished product. "

Company email:
"Our red wines are fined with egg whites. Low levels, but we do use this protein derived from chicken eggs. "