Hardywood Bourbon Cru is Not Vegan Friendly

by Hardywood Park Craft Brewery
Address: 2408 Ownby Lane
Richmond, VA, 23220
USA
Phone: (804) 420-2420
Fax:
Email: info@hardywood.com
URL: www.hardywood.com
Checked by: Jordan
Double checked by: Susan
Added: almost 2 years ago

[Editor's note] A followup email has been sent to the company for clarification (pun intended).

Company email (November 2013):
"Most of our beers are vegan. We don't filter any of our beers. The filtration you are referring to is called Isinglass. Most breweries have moved away from using it, instead using vegan plant based filtration techniques.
I would avoid all Milk Stouts and Lacto Stouts as they contain lactose sugar derived from milk. Our Gingerbread Stout is a milk stout, and also contains local wildflower honey, which also disqualifies it from being vegan."

Company email (June 2012):
"We only use natural ingredients in our beers, however we employ isinglass as a clarifying agent. We certainly hope to become more inclusive of various diets and will keep a look out for alternatives as long as they are all natural. If you have any suggestions, please send them our way."

Other products by Hardywood Park Craft Brewery: