Campari Cinzano Vermouth is Not Vegan Friendly

by Gruppo Campari
Address: Via Sacchetti, 20 - 20099 Sest
San Giovanni (MI)
Italy
Phone: +39 02 62 25 1
Fax: +39 02 62 25 312
Email: infoitalia@campari.com
URL: http://www.camparigroup.com
Checked by: Belinda
Double checked by: Brett, Andrea, David, Tracy
Added: about 3 years ago
Double Checked: over 2 years ago

Company email (November 2013): re: Tequila
"Thank you for taking the time to e-mail us about is your tequila vegan? Our product is Vegan friendly, not Kosher, and has no nut products in it. There are no animal products used in the process of producing"

Company email (February 2012):
"We do not have an official document in English, however we can confirm that Campari products do not contain ingredients of animal origin, exception made for cream based products (Carolans) or containing honey (American Honey, Irish Mist), for which the presence of such typology of ingredient is clearly indicated on the label.

The productive cycle of some products (and among these Sparkling wines, Cinzano vermouths, Campari bitter) foresees the use of gelatin to assit the productive cycle."

October 2011: Barnivore is looking into what products definitely are NOT fined with gelatin.

Company email (October 2011):
"Campari products's portfolio do not use animal ingredients. Exceptions are the products made with cream (Carolans) or containing honey (American Honey,
Irish Mist) for which the presence of this type of ingredient is clearly indicated on the label. The production cycle of certain products (like sparkling wines, Cinzano vermouth, Campari) use small quantities of gelatin as a processing aid; However the clarification and filtration operations are able to ensure an effective removal of them from the finished product."

Company Email: campari@qualitycustomercare.com
No animal products are used in the production process of Campari."
When asked what part of the world their answer pertains they wrote: "Thank you for taking the time to e-mail us. Carmine is banned in the US." but as far as Barnivore can figure, it's not banned... it just must be put on the label.

Company Email:infoitalia@campari.com
"All Campari purchased through your local bottle shops or sold in bars are clubs throughout Australia that is distributed by Suntory (Aust) Pty Ltd does not contain Carmine.

The only exception to this is in the Duty Free market which uses a different formula (FCA) and contains carmine." jchurch@suntory.com.au

Other products by Gruppo Campari: