Henney's Cider is Unknown

by Henney's Cider Company
Address: Les Blanquettes
Bishops Frome, Herefordshire, WR6 5AP
Email: mike@henneys.co.uk
URL: http://www.henneys.co.uk
Checked by: Sid
Double checked by: Bones, Juliet
Added: about 7 years ago
Double Checked: 9 months ago

Company email (September 2017)
"We have recently stopped using a chitin based filter aid in our ciders so they will be vegan friendly from now on. On the slower selling lines it will be a few months before they reach the shelf but on our main sellers Henney's Dry and Henney's Classic the stock is reaching retailers now. Best is to check the back label as we have changed this for new production to advise that they are vegan friendly."

[50 imaginary internet points to the first person to remind us to update the entry in 2018]

Company email (June 2011):
"Not vegan friendly as we use a chitin product to aid filtering."

Company email:
"My bottlers use an agent to aid filtering derived from chitin, which is a substance manufactured from the shells of crustaceans such as shrimp. It does not remain in the finished product.
I'm guessing as there is an animal involved this rules it out for vegans and vegetarians. I would be interested to know."

Note from Sid: "response sent informing him that chitin is not suitable for vegans or vegetarians, and politely suggesting he look into alternatives"