Smithwicks is Vegan Friendly

Address: Ireland
Phone:
Fax:
Email: grainne.devereux@diageo.com
URL: http://www.diageo.ie/brands/smithwicks
Checked by: Brian
Double checked by: Justin, Anna
Added: about 7 years ago
Double Checked: about 1 month ago

Company email (May 2018)
"We're happy to tell you that several variants of Guinness, including Smithwick's, are now vegan friendly. So, you can go to your local pub and enjoy a pint of Guinness on-tap.

"As you can imagine, this is a highly complex project. In the first phase of the project, we concentrated on Guinness in kegs, so all Guinness kegs produced in St. James’s Gate for distribution to pubs, bars, restaurants around the world has been produced using our new state-of-the-art filtration system, which is vegan-friendly. The second stage of the project, focusing on the other Guinness variants, is now underway."

Company Email: (circa 2011)
"We value loyal consumers such as yourself and we appreciate your enthusiasm. In response to your inquiry, Kilkenny is not suitable for vegan's but we do not have confirmation on the filtering agent used. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. "

Company Email:
"It is always great to hear from our loyal consumers. We can confirm that Isinglass is used in production of our beers. This product is produced from the swim bladders of certain species of fish found in subtropical waters. Isinglassis used widely in the brewing industry although it is extensively refined before use. Its sole purpose is as a fining agent to help remove yeast from our beer.
While we accept that some minor traces of isinglass may subsequently remain in the finished product, the European Food Safety Agency has recently expressed the view that the risk of adverse reaction by individuals to isinglass is very remote."

Other products by Smithwicks: