Powers Irish Whiskey is Vegan Friendly
|by Irish Distillers Limited|
|Address:||Simmonscourt House, Simmonscourt Road, Ballsbridge,
|Double checked by:||Emily, Vinny, Jim, Irene, Timothy, Jaye, Sarah, Rob, Georgia|
|Added:||almost 7 years ago|
Barnivore note (February 2014): Jameson Irish Whiskey is owned by Pernod Ricard, a major funder of bullfighting.
Company email (November 2016) re: West Coast Coolers
"We can confirm West Coast Cooler Original & Rose varieties are both vegan friendly"
Company email (May 2010):
"Jameson Irish Whiskey is suitable for vegans. No animal products of any description (including milk, eggs, honey, gelatin, isinglass etc) are used in the manufacture of Jameson.
It is a good idea to state the suitability of the drink for vegetarians or vegans. It is an idea we are considering at the moment."
Company email (March 2010):
"We can confirm that all Irish Whiskey, including Jameson and Powers, is suitable for vegans.
No animal products of any description (including milk, eggs, honey, gelatin, isinglass etc) are used in the manufacture of Irish Whiskey."
Jameson does not use any isinglass or any animal by product in the production of Jameson Irish Whiskey.
"Thank you for taking the time to e-mail us. There is no animal product used in the distilling or filtering process of Jameson."
Email from Emily:
"I wrote Jameson at least a year ago and inquired about the use of gelatin, isinglass, or other animal products in the whiskey. I received a personal email from an administrative employee who researched the matter. She thoroughly explained that isinglass was indeed used for clarification of the liquid, and though it was filtered out completely with the impurities from the clarified whiskey, that yes, technically, that meant that it did not fit my definition of vegan. She did state that that was the only animal-derived product in the process."
"Thank you for taking the time to e-mail us. There are no animal products used in the production Jameson Whiskey."
"None of the products mentioned in the request for information below are used in any form in the manufacture of Jameson."
In brief Jameson Irish Whiskey is produced as follows:
"Whole cereal grains are milled, water is added and with the addition of yeast(a traditional type of distilling yeast is used) fermentation occurs. Fermentation is the process whereby yeast converts the wort, which is a sugary solution extracted from the milled cereal grains, into an alcoholic wash( in effect a type of beer). The wash, which contains about 12% alcohol is then triple distilled to give a newly distilled spirit. After maturation of the spirit in oak cask for the minimum number of years this beverage can then be called Whiskey. The production of Jameson Irish Whiskey meets with the strict requirements of the IRISH WHISKEY ACT, 1980, the purpose of which is to define the production and labeling requirements of Irish whiskey and blended Irish whiskey and all other relevant legislation on the production of Irish Whiskey. None of these regulations allow the use of such products."
"Thank you for taking the time to e-mail us. Jameson is vegan friendly. None of the items mentioned [dairy, egg, or honey, bone char] are used in the production of Jameson Irish whiskey."
Other products by Irish Distillers Limited: