Brewdog Punk IPA is Vegan Friendly

by Brewdog Beer
Address: Unit 1, Kessock Workshops
Fraserburgh, AB43 8UE
Phone: +44 (0) 1346 519 009
Checked by: Charlotte
Double checked by: Meindert, Jukka, Kine, Dan, Sian, Jonathon, Craig, Martyn, Owen, John, Neil, Andrew, Amberley, Craig
Added: almost 4 years ago
Double Checked: over 3 years ago

Craig notes (May 2019) that Punk AF is brewed with lactose, according to

Company email (March 2019)
"...[Opaque Jake and Quench Quake are] vegan, yes!"

Company email (September 2018)
"YES - Lost Lager is vegan friendly :)"

Company email (December 2017)
"Our Gin doesn't contain any animal ingredients at all, neither does out Vodka

"We will soon be doing a canned espresso martini which will contain Milk but none of our other products do

"We only manufacture our Gin, from scratch, in our distillery in Ellon, Scotland"

Company email (August 2017)
"Happy to report that Nanny State is one of our vegan friendly beers"

Owen notes (August 2016) that the majority of Brewdog beers have the Vegan Society logo on the label, with the exception of Jet Black Heart, Dogma and Electric India.

Company email (June 2016) in regards to Elvis Juice:
"Elvis Juice does not contain any animal products. We use a centrifuge to filter our beer. Elvis Juice is registered with the Vegan Society and label has the Vegan Society logo on it. You can find our vegan registered beers here:"

Company email (February 2015):
"Our beers contain all natural ingredients and flavours which are vegan friendly! We do not use any artificial additives or chemicals.
All of our Headliner and Amplified range are vegan friendly, except for Dogma, Jet Black Heart and Electric India.

"I do not have a complete list to hand of every single vegan friendly beer so I would check out the style and flavourings of the beers before you purchase.

"On our website there is a lowdown of each beer, and from the description it will mention if any extra things have been thrown in ! All ingredients are also included on the bottle."

Company email (January 2015):
Q: "I was wondering if you would be able to tell me if your lager is suitable for vegetarians and or vegans?"
A: "Yes it is"

Company email (March 2014):
"Bacon was used in the kettle while we brewed the beer so Lumberjack is one of our few beers that is not suitable for vegetarians."

Note from Sian and company email (March 2014):
"Update for you on Brewdog beers: their Lumberjack Breakfast Stout was brewed using bacon (I have no idea how!). They weren't advertising the fact it wasn't vegetarian when I was in their Manchester bar a few days ago -- the bartender just casually mentioned it after I'd already tried some! -- but they're going to contact all their bars and remind them to make it clear in future.

I also double-checked if they had any other beers which weren't vegetarian or vegan, and they said:
All our core range is vegan and vegetarian friendly and the only beer we produce regularly that is not vegan friendly is Dogma, as it contains honey. Some of our one off and special brews sometimes contain ingredients like lactose or honey but these are included on bottle labels and should be displayed in our bars."

Update via Twitter (August 2013):
"There are a couple of exceptions due to the use of honey etc, but all core range are vegan. We don't do cask."

Company email (January 2013): [specifically in regard to Punk IPA bottles]
"Yes this is suitable for vegans."

Company email (January 2011):
"Our Bottled beers and Keg Beers are both suitable for Vegans as they contain water, malt, yeast and water. Our Cask Products contain Finings (as the settling agent) which have a fish derivative. "

Company email (July 2010):
"Yes all bottles and kegs are vegan. Cask Beer, through the traditional hand pump contains isinglass finings which lets the unfiltered product settle in the cask."

Company email:
"No sorry none of our beers are vegan friendly."

Other products by Brewdog Beer: