Samuel Adams Light is Vegan Friendly

by Sam Adams
Address: c/o Boston Beer Corporation, One Design Center, Suite 850
Boston, MA, 02210
USA
Phone: (617) 368.5000
Fax:
Email: http://www.samueladams.com/contact-us
URL: http://www.samueladams.com/
Checked by: JD
Double checked by: Dadga, Mike, Sarah, Katie, AngelA, Jessica, Hana
Added: 3 months ago

Company email (April 2014):
"All of our beers are vegan, except those that contain honey as an added ingredient. Our website will tell you which beers these are; when you click on a specific beer it will give you a description and list any special ingredients. Summer Ale does not contain honey.
The only other place outside the U.S. that is licensed to brew our beer is Sheperd Neame Brewery in the UK, and the recipes and methods are exactly the same, so there are no animal products used."

Company email (September 2011):
"All of our beers are vegan EXCEPT - Samuel Adams Cherry Wheat which contains honey."

Company email (March 2011):
" All of our beers are vegan, with the exception of Samuel Adams Cherry Wheat as there is some honey in that beer. However, we did a collaboration with our partner Chef, David Burke. We brewed a specialty brew only for him & his restaurants and we let him choose whatever ingredient he want to add. He chose the non-vegan ingredient of beef hearts. However, we only brewed that beer once. It was bottled and sold only in his restaurants, and all of the beer was sold out by December. Other than Samuel Adams Cherry Wheat, all of our beers are vegan. Hope this helps! "

Company email (March 2011):
"All of our beers are brewed using traditional methods, and they contain water, malted barley, hops, and yeast. Some beers also contain additional ingredients; for example, cherries and honey are used in making Cherry Wheat. None of the ingredients we use contain fat; therefore, our beer does not contain fat.
All of our beers are vegan, containing no animal products and not filtered with any animal products, with the exception of Cherry Wheat (made with honey). Our beers are only brewed in our breweries in Boston, Cinncinatti, and Leigh High Valley, PA. They all have the same vegan standards. "

Company email (November 2010):
"Chocolate Bock is a chocolate beer made with all natural malt, the world’s finest hops, and cacao nibs; the beans used to make chocolate. In the past, this rich and satisfying brew has been released on a limited basis, usually around Valentine’s Day. However, this year we are releasing Chocolate Bock as part of the Winter Classic\'s variety pack. It will be one of the 6 beers in the variety 12-pk and will not be packaged by itself.
Interestingly enough, ALL of Samuel Adams beers are vegan friendly (with the exception of the Cherry Wheat (honey))"

Company email (December 2010):
"All of our styles including the Chocolate Bock are vegan friendly with the exception of the Honey Porter and the Cherry Wheat which both contain honey"

Company email (February 2010):
" Hardcore Cider is Vegan...it contains apples, and it is back
sweetened with sweetener but we are not brewing in the 19th century so
we would never us eggs (albumin?), or other animal products...no
modern brewers use animal products except for honey or isinglas
finings for a specific type of traditional cask conditioned
ale....finings for all modern beers is made form seaweed"

From their website FAQ:
Q: Are Samuel Adams beers vegan?
A: The Samuel Adams brewers do not use any animal products in the beer.

Oh, but the honey thing confuses the meat people...

From Dadga:
hey, just a note on sam adam's... their cherry wheat beer has honey in it, tho their cream stout has no dairy.

Via Erik:
Thanks for reaching out! As you've found already, most of our beers are vegan. However, some of our beers are made with honey, which of course some vegans consider off limits. These beers include Cherry Wheat and Honey Porter.

Other products by Sam Adams: