Shock Top Raspberry Wheat is Vegan Friendly

by Michelob Brewing Co
Address: Busch Place
St. Louis, MO
USA
Phone: 1-888-Michelob
Fax:
Email: Michelob.com@anheuser-busch.com
URL: http://www.michelob.com
Checked by: Elaine
Double checked by: Brian, Lucas, Andrew, Kai
Added: 10 months ago

Company email (January 2014): re: Shock Top Raspberry Wheat
"Anheuser-Busch beers vary in the type and mix of ingredients, and in certain refinements of the brewing process used to achieve their distinctive and unique characteristics. But, the majority of our products are brewed without any artificial ingredients, additives, or preservatives. In addition, none of Anheuser-Busch brewed beers or other products contain any animal ingredients (such as milk, eggs, etc), or process aids such as isinglass or gelatin, except for two small volume brands: Budweiser & Clamato Chelada and Bud Light & Clamato Chelada. Both the Chelada beverages contain shellfish.

Also, at this time, we have not applied for certification from Vegan Action, PETA, or the American Vegetarian Association although we are confident our beers would qualify."

Company email (February 2011):
"Anheuser-Busch beers, including O'Doul's, are brewed around the world using water, yeast, barley malt, hops and cereal grains (such as rice, corn, or sorghum). While we are not certified as vegan, none of Anheuser-Busch’s brewed beers or other products contain any animal ingredients (such as milk, eggs, etc), or process aids such as isinglass or gelatin.

The exceptions to this are three small volume brands called Michelob Honey Lager, Michelob Honey Wheat, and Michelob Golden Honey Wheat. These beers use real, all-natural honey."

Company email (May 2009):
"All Michelob Brewing Co. beers are brewed using only all natural ingredients like water, yeast, barley malt, hops and cereal grains (such as rice, corn, or sorghum). None of our beers or other products contain any animal ingredients (such as milk, eggs, etc), or process aids such as isinglass or gelatin, except for two small volume brands called Michelob Honey Lager and Michelob Honey Wheat, which both use real honey. For those reasons, I would absolutely consider all of our beers (other than Honey Lager and Honey Wheat) vegan friendly!""

Company email (July 2008):
"You asked about animal products. We don't use animal derived products in our beers, nor as lubricant in the process equipment for making beer or our packaging materials.

Finings, such as Isinglass, Irish Moss or gelatin, are commonly added to fermented beers to aid in the settling of yeast and other suspended particles. We do not use finings in our beers. We eliminate the need for finings by thoroughly settling and removing trub before fermentation. Additionally, the beechwood we add to our lagering tanks attracts and holds back the yeast. After a lengthy 3 weeks of aging, most yeast has well settled onto the beechwood at the bottom of the tank and will stay there when the beer moves forward. These are some of the techniques we use so that our beers can be all-Natural without the use of additives, stabilizers, preservatives or finings.

Also, none of our beers contain egg or dairy. The only one of our beers that is brewed with honey is our Michelob Honey Lager. We use natural light amber wildflower honey harvested in the Northern Plains and the Great Lakes areas of the United States."

Other products by Michelob Brewing Co: