St. Clement Reds is Not Vegan Friendly

by St. Clement Vineyards
Address: 2867 St. Helena Highway North
St. Helena, CA
USA
Phone: 866-877-5939
Fax:
Email: http://www.stclement.com/contact
URL: http://www.stclement.com/
Checked by: Susan
Double checked by:
Added: 9 months ago

Company email (October 2013):
"Vegetarians or vegans should use caution when choosing our red wines due to the possibility that it may have been clarified with fining agents such as egg albumin, casein (from milk), gelatin, and isinglass (from fish).

Fining agents are used to reduce harsh tannins and remove several kinds of hazes that can be found in wine. In using these agents the winemaker is further fine-tuning the structure of the wine. The use of small amounts of fining agents is generally necessary to ensure that the wine will be clear, stable, have longevity, and be enjoyable to taste.

The winemakers decide which fining agents are used and these may vary from product to product and even batch to batch (usually depending on the grapes of that particular year). It is important to note that despite fining agents being used during the winemaking process, they are removed prior to bottling. In addition, all of our wines are gluten free and the products we use to make our wines, such as yeast, fining agents, filters and barrels are also gluten free."

Other products by St. Clement Vineyards: