Girolamo Luxardo S.p.A. is vegan friendly
|Address:||Via Romana 42
35038 Torreglia (Padova)
|Double checked by:||Josh, Nico|
|Added:||almost 9 years ago|
|Double Checked:||almost 4 years ago|
Products by Girolamo Luxardo S.p.A.:
"I can confirm that our products do not contain or are made with animal product.
We have only one product that has cream inside but it is produced in a separate area of the company using specific machinery and filtering units only for this product."
Reply from Nico:
"While I was awaiting your answer, I found following quote on Wikipedia:
"Honey is also part of the ancient recipe." (Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maraschino).
I hope you understand that I feel insecure when I combine this quote to your statement. So please let me ask for further qualification: Why does the Wikipedia article mention honey as an ingredient? Is it because the traditional recipe contained honey, but your recipe has been developed to what it is today?"
"I have no idea why in Wikipedia they put honey in the Maraschino, maybe they were using the honey because it is a sweetener and in the past was easier to find than sugar, today life is easier and we do not use Honey but sugar, and we do not use other animal ingredients in our liqueurs.
The recipe for the Maraschino is easy, Cherry distillate, sugar, alcohol and natural flavours no other ingredients."
Company Email regarding Maraschino: May 2010
"I am happy to tell you than not only our Maraschino is suitable for vegans but it is also Kosher so extremely pure, as you know a product to be kosher its production has to be checked from the beginning through the end."
Company Email when asked about Amaretto and Limoncello: 2006
"There are no animal products used in our liqueurs, and the alcohol is filtered with carton filters."