Spinnakers Gastro Brewpub has some vegan options

Address: 308 Catherine Street
Victoria, BC, V9A 3S8
Phone: (250) 384-6613
Fax: (250) 384-3246
Email: spinnakers@spinnakers.com
URL: http://www.spinnakers.com/
Checked by: Janine
Double checked by: Gabrielle, Mary L, Kelly, Company
Added: about 10 years ago
Double Checked: over 2 years ago

Products by Spinnakers Gastro Brewpub:

Company email (September 2015):
" I’m happy to let you know that we have indeed changed from gelatin to a product called biofine which is a liquid silica product suitable for vegans. If you could kindly update your info about our company’s products that would be much appreciated. We do have 2 beers currently in our lineup (Orange Karma Cream ale and Honey Kolsch) which may not be suitable for vegans as the former contains lactose sugar and the latter contains honey."

Company email (January 2014):
"Unfortunately we are unable to track down the vegan finings in order to make our beer vegan friendly. There is a shortage of the silicone used in this vegan product which means we are unable to source it at the moment. We were vegan friendly for a few months, but as of quite recently we are no longer making vegan friendly beers. We will definitely be looking at going back to the vegan method as soon as we are able. We do carry a couple of bottles beers that are vegan friendly."

Company email (March 2013):
"We used to use gelatin as a fining agent, but I am happy to say that we have made the switch to a vegan fining so all of our draft beer is vegan friendly! The only non-vegan beers would be our Chocoholic Milk Porter which contains lactose sugar and our Happy New Beer - Honey Kolsch, both of which are only in bottles."

Company email:
"Most of our beers may contain a clarifier that contains gelatin, though they are used on a batch to batch basis and are used out of necessity to help beers clear as they condition. As such, any beers we make which are meant to be turbid, such as our hefeweizen or witbier, would never have clarifying agents in them and would be Vegan to the best of my knowledge."

Company email:
"I regret to inform you that we do use gelatin in our beer making process. It would only appear in trace amounts in the final product, but it is used. "