Jester King Craft Brewery has some vegan options

Address: 13005 Fitzhugh Rd. Bld. B
Austin, Texas, 512-537-5100
USA
Phone:
Fax:
Email: info@jesterkingbrewery.com
URL: http://www.jesterkingbrewery.com/
Checked by: Mel
Double checked by: Emily
Added: over 6 years ago
Double Checked: 9 months ago

Products by Jester King Craft Brewery:

Company email (March 2017)
"We do not use ANY fining or filtering agents in our beer. The only thing I could think of that would not be vegan friendly would be honey or some of our smoked ingredients that were smoked at a BBQ restaurant. I realize that both of these are sort of borderline non-vegan ingredients, but still worth considering. [Note: http://jesterkingbrewery.com/beers/ is quite thorough]

Company Email (circa 2011)
"All of the kegged and bottled beers that we have produced so far at Jester King have been vegetarian and vegan friendly. Our bottle labels actually state this explicitly, though we had to argue a bit with the TTB to make that happen.

Ordinarily, we do not filter or fine our beers in any way, but we have occasionally used finings (isinglass) in some of the cask-conditioned versions. When we've done this, the finings were prepared and added to individual casks at the time those casks were filled, and in most cases, we try to avoid using finings for our cask ales, as well.

Whenever possible, we also try to use organic malts. Our Wytchmaker Rye IPA is made using an organic base malt, which makes up about 80% of the grist.

Our beers are brewed exclusively at our brewery in Austin, and we have no plans to have them made anywhere else. We are planning to do some future collaborations with other brewers who share our general philosophy, but any such beers that we brew will clearly state where they're made.

I should also mention that while we don't use honey in any of our current recipes, it is an ingredient that we've considered and might work with in the future. Should we ever decide to use honey in any of our future brews, we would certainly indicate its use on the label, and of course we would not market such beers as vegan friendly."