Malibu Rum is NOT vegan friendly

Address: Pernod Ricard UK Limited, Building 12 Chiswick Park, 566 Chiswick High Road
London, W4 5AN
Checked by: Katie
Double checked by: Sarah, Ms. K, RT
Added: over 12 years ago
Double Checked: 4 months ago

Products by Malibu Rum:

From their FAQ (, retrieved May 2021)

"We do not add animal derivatives into our products, however, one of our sugar suppliers uses a process that is not considered vegan-friendly. While this is a common practice in the sugar industry, it unfortunately also means we are unable to call Malibu suitable for a vegan diet."

Company email (August 2014):
"Malibu is indeed suitable for a vegan diet, no animal products are used in the manufacturing of Malibu."

Company email (June 2014):
"To answer your question, Malibu Rum is acceptable for a vegan diet. There are no animal or fish products used in the manufacturing of Malibu. This is also true for the different varieties of Malibu products."

Company email (circa 2009):
"There are no animal products used in the production or filtration of our Malibu Rum product."