Barefoot Wines & Bubbly is NOT vegan friendly

Address: 600 Yosemite Blvd
Modesto, CA, 95354
USA
Phone: 800-750-8828
Fax:
Email: archsupport@barefootwine.com
URL: http://www.barefootwine.com/
Checked by: Colette
Double checked by: Celia, Regi, Jaylyn, Cassia, Jessica, Justine
Added: almost 7 years ago
Double Checked: about 1 year ago

Products by Barefoot Wines & Bubbly:

Company email (February 2013):
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs.

Treatment of wines with milk or egg products is a common wine industry practice and is done by winemakers as needed to provide the appropriate treatment and clarity to the wine. These milk or egg products are removed during the filtering of the wines after treatment. In addition, we go one step further to verify that milk or egg products are not detectable after filtration by testing each lot of wine that is treated. However, our E. & J. Cask & Cream and ChocolatRouge products do contain dairy base products in the cream which is sourced from Holland.We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs. "

Company email (October 2012);
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email:
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company email:
"In response to your inquiry, our winemakers tell us both animal and fish products (e.g., commercial, food-grade gelatin) have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally no gelatin remains in the wine because it reacts with the wine components, as it clarifies, and forms a sediment which is removed by filtration prior to bottling. Exceptions to this are a few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Double Check:
"In response to your inquiry, our winemakers tell us both animal and fish products (e.g., commercial, food-grade gelatin) have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally no gelatin remains in the wine because it reacts with the wine components, as it clarifies, and forms a sediment which is removed by filtration prior to bottling. Exceptions to this are a few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Triple Check: (and again in Jan 2011)
"In response to your inquiry, our winemakers tell us both animal and fish products (e.g., commercial, food-grade gelatin) have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally no gelatin remains in the wine because it reacts with the wine components, as it clarifies, and forms a sediment which is removed by filtration prior to bottling. Exceptions to this are a few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."