Flensburger Winterbock is Vegan Friendly

by Flensburger Brauerei
Address: Flensburger Brauerei Emil Petersen GmbH & Co. KG, Munketoft 12, D-24937
Flensburg
Germany
Phone: +49 (0) 461 863-0
Fax: +49 (0) 461 863-300
Email: info@flens.de
URL: http://www.flens.de/
Checked by: Wayne
Double checked by: Bjørn
Added: about 4 years ago
Double Checked: 5 months ago

Company email (February 2016):
"Unsere Biere, das Flensburger Radler sowie die alkoholfreien Sorten wie Flensburger Malz, Flensburger Wasser sowie Flens Fassbrause enthalten keine tierischen Zutaten. Auch im Herstellungsprozess unserer Sorten werden keine Hilfsstoffe tierischer Herkunft eingesetzt. Durch den Einsatz moderner Zentrifugations- und Filtrationsverfahren ist die Notwendigkeit eines Einsatzes derartiger Hilfsstoffe nicht mehr gegeben .

Tierknochen o.ä. werden für Etikettenleim nicht verwendet. Für die allermeisten Nassetikettierungsleime kommt als Hauptbestandteil Casein, also ein Milcheiweißbestandteil, zum Einsatz. Bei uns wird ausschließlich das Siegeletikett, welches der herausragenden Haftungseigenschaften dieses Leimes bedarf, mit Caseinleim aufgebracht. Hierbei handelt es sich also um ein modifiziertes Naturprodukt. Unsere Rumpf- und Rückenetiketten werden mit synthetischen Leimen aufgetragen, also ohne natürliche Stoffe tierischer Herkunft."

[Translation: "Our beers, the Flensburger Radler as well as the alcohol-free types such as Flensburger Malz, Flensburger Wasser and Flens Fassbrause do not contain any animal ingredients. Also, no additives of animal origin are used in the production process. Through the use of of modern centrifugation and filtering methods, the use of this kind of additives is no longer necessary. Animal bones or similar are not used for label glue. For the vast majority of wet-labelling glues, casein, i.e. a milk-protein ingredient, is used as a main ingredient. In our case, exclusively the seal label, which requires the outstanding adhesive properties of such glue, is glued on a casein base. In other words a modified natural product. Our front and back labels are glued with synthetic glues, i.e. without natural products of animal origin."]

Company email (June 2012):
[Summary] "All their beer is vegan, but as with most returnable beer bottles, the labels are stuck on using glue containing casein. The disposable bottles don't use glue with casein."

Other products by Flensburger Brauerei: