The Glenrothes Whisky is Vegan Friendly

by The Glenrothes
Address: c/o BB&R Spirits Ltd, 3 St James’s Street
London, SW1A 1EG
Checked by: Jordan
Double checked by: Craig
Added: about 6 years ago

Company email (April 2013):
[Editor's note: Craig verified that "sea shells" as referred to in the May 2012 response would actually be diatomaceous earth, thereby making The Glenrothes vegan-friendly.]
"Diatomaceous earth also known as D.E., diatomite, is a naturally occurring, soft, siliceous sedimentary rock that is easily crumbled into a fine white to off-white powder.

Diatomaceous earth consists of fossilized remains of diatoms, a type of hard-shelled algae. It is used as a filtration aid in the chill filtration process when we make all of our whiskies. This is made into a paper that the whiskies will then be passed through.

As this material is made from fossilised algae it does affect the vegan whisky consumer.
If a whisky is un-chill filtered then you will have no problems with our whiskies."

Company email (May 2012):
"We have consulted our production team who have confirmed that as part of the filtration process, the sheets we use include material made from sea-shells so we cannot state The Glenrothes is suitable for vegans."