Sawmill Creek Wines is Not Vegan Friendly

Address: PO Box 1650
Oliver, BC, V0H 1T0
Phone: 1-877-919-7587
Checked by: Emily
Double checked by: Deborah
Added: over 6 years ago

Note from Deborah (March 2013):
"According to an email from their customer service department, they do use milk and/or egg products in their filtering process, so are not vegan."

Company email (August 2011):
"Fining agents are used on a lot-by-lot basis to optimize the quality. Some fining agents contain proteinaceous materials. Proteinaceous fining agents are used to react with color and/or tannin molecules to make them removable by subsequent filtration. Both the fining agent, the color and/or tannin it reacts with are removed by the filtration process.
All of our fining agents are government approved. One of our standard fining agents contains Micronized potassium casseinate [casein is milk protein], food grade gelatin, egg albumin and other food grade components."