Rancho Zabaco Wine is Not Vegan Friendly
|by Rancho Zabaco Winery|
|Address:||600 Yosemite Blvd
|Checked by:||Ryan R|
|Double checked by:|
|Added:||almost 8 years ago|
|Double Checked:||about 7 years ago|
"our winemakers tell us both animal and fish products (e.g., commercial, food-grade gelatin) have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally no gelatin remains in the wine because it reacts with the wine components, as it clarifies, and forms a sediment which is removed by filtration prior to bottling. Exceptions to this are a few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling and therefore may not be completely free of animal products.
Also, treatment of wines with milk or egg products is a common wine industry practice and is done by winemakers as needed to provide the appropriate treatment and clarity to the wine. These milk or egg products are removed during the filtering of the wines after treatment. At Rancho Zabaco we go one step further to verify that milk or egg products do not remain after filtration by testing each lot of wine that is treated."