Black Box Wine is Not Vegan Friendly

by Black Box Wines
Phone: 888-659-7900
Checked by: Tyler
Double checked by: Ben
Added: almost 11 years ago
Double Checked: about 1 year ago

Company email (September 2017)
[Basically the same as the 2009 one]

Company email (circa 2009):
Fining agents are used on a lot-by-lot basis by the winemaker to optimize wine quality. Some fining agents contain proteinaceous materials. Proteinaceous fining agents are used to react with color and/or tannin molecules to make them removable by subsequent filtration. Both the fining agent, the color and/or tannin it reacts with are removed by the filtration process.

All of our fining agents are approved by the Alcohol & Tobacco Tax & Trade Bureau (TTB, formerly the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms)

One of our standard fining agents contains Micronized potassium casseinate [casein is milk protein], food grade gelatin, egg albumin and other food grade components.