Chateau St. Jean Wine is Not Vegan Friendly
|by Chateau St. Jean|
|Address:||8555 Sonoma Highway (Highway 12), PO Box 293
Kenwood, CA, 95452
|Double checked by:||Katie, Valerie, Marie|
|Added:||about 6 years ago|
|Double Checked:||almost 3 years ago|
Company email (June 2014):
"Fining agents that are used across our brand are: egg albumin, casein, gelatin, and isinglass.
Fining agents are used to reduce harsh tannin and remove several kinds of hazes that can be found in wine. In using these agents, the winemaker is further fine-tuning the structure of the wine. The use of small amounts of fining agents is generally necessary to ensure that the wine will still be clear, stable and sound, have longevity and be enjoyable to taste.
The winemaker decides in which fining agents are used and these may vary from product to product and even batch to batch (usually depending on the grapes of that particular year.) It is important to note that despite fining agents being used during the wine-making process, they are removed prior to bottling."
Company email (May 2014):
"The info from the last time you checked with us is still valid and current.
Vegetarians or vegans should use caution when choosing our red wines due to the possibility that it may have been clarified with fining agents such as egg albumin, casein (from milk), gelatin, and isinglass (from fish)."
"The fining agent isinglass is a pure protein derived from fish, which has been used for centuries to clarify and improve the quality of the wine. Fining agents are used to reduce harsh tannins and remove several kinds of hazes common in wines. The use of small amounts of fining agents is generally necessary to ensure that the wine will be clear and stable. Please note that despite using fining agents during the winemaking process, they are removed prior to bottling by settling and filtering out."
"Yes, all of our wines are vegan."