Syncline Wines (pre-2015) is Not Vegan Friendly
|by Syncline Wine Cellars|
|Address:||111 Balch Rd
Lyle, Washington, 98635
|Double checked by:||Denise|
|Added:||almost 7 years ago|
|Double Checked:||8 months ago|
Company email (June 2016)
"No animal products used. Only earths used for fining."
Company Email (circa 2009)
"Egg whites are the only animal product we ever fine our red wines with (they come from the chickens raised on our property - biodynamic farm, organically fed, free running outdoor, etc, etc).
The white wines are not fined with any animal products. Roussanne, Viognier, Subduction White, Gruner Veltliner, Sparkling wine, late harvest Viognier.
Reds are sometimes fined, sometimes not. The egg whites (pure protein) are used to soften tannins in the red wines by binding with the tannin molecules and precipitating out of solution. No egg whites remain in the finished wine. A whole barrel (60 gallons) might require about 1 or 2 milliliters of egg whites to soften it.
I will have to look over our laboratory reports for all current wines to see what has been fined and what has not and get back to you. We are now into all 2008 Reds."
Other products by Syncline Wine Cellars:
Not Vegan Friendly