Schmitt Sohne Table Wine, Mulled Wine (Gluhwein) is Not Vegan Friendly

by Schmitt Sohne, Inc.
Address: Weinstra├če 8
Longuich, 54340
Phone: +49 (6502) 409
Fax: +49 (6502) 409 -36
Checked by: Mary Beth
Double checked by: Julie, Cassia, Tiffany, Amy, Maria
Added: over 8 years ago
Double Checked: 3 months ago

Company email (December 2017)
"Please note that our wines - while suitable for vegetarians - are not vegan as we sometimes use protein sourced from egg whites for the refining process."

Company email (August 2017) for Relax Wines:
"We don't use any animal or dairy products during the production or filtration of any of our wines. We use Bentonite to fine or clarify our wines which is volcanic ash and therefore qualifies us as Vegan friendly."

Company email (December 2012):
"Schmitt Sohne rarely has to fine our wines... we normally let them settle by themselves and filter before bottling. On the few occasions when the wine is not crystal clear we will use Bentonite as a fining agent. Bentonite is from volcanic ash and has a negative charge which attracts suspended particles in wine and causes them to settle to the bottom of the tank. We do not use any animal by-products and are completely in accordance with vegan guidelines"

Company email: Jan 2011
"We use animal by-products during the fining process."

Company email: Aug 2009
"Thank you for your email and the interest in our wines. We do use pig gelatin for the treatment process of our wines, but it is removed completely with several filtration processes."

About Relax Wines specifically: AUG 09
"We use egg white by-products during the fining stage and although they are completely filtered out our wines do not qualify as vegan-friendly."

Other products by Schmitt Sohne, Inc.: