Cook's Champagne is NOT vegan friendly

Address: 12667 Road 24
Madera, CA, 93639
Phone: 1-888-659-7900
Checked by: Abigail
Double checked by: Karen, Daniel
Added: almost 15 years ago
Double Checked: over 12 years ago

Products by Cook's Champagne:

Company email (January 2023)
"In regard to your email we do use casein during the winemaking process. Therefore Cook’s is not considered vegan at this time."

Company email, March 2012:

[Same as the one below]

Company Email, 2010:

"Fining agents are used on a lot-by-lot basis to optimize the quality. Some fining agents contain proteinaceous materials. Proteinaceous fining agents
are used to react with color and/or tannin molecules to make them removable by subsequent filtration. Both the fining agent, the color and/or tannin it reacts with are removed by the filtration process.

All of our fining agents are approved by the Alcohol & Tobacco Tax & Trade Bureau (TTB, formerly the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms)

One of our standard fining agents contains Micronized potassium casseinate [casein is milk protein], food grade gelatin, egg albumin and other food grade components."