Cook's Champagne is Not Vegan Friendly

Address: 12667 Road 24
Madera, CA, 93639
Phone: 1-888-659-7900
Checked by: Abigail
Double checked by: Karen, Daniel
Added: over 14 years ago
Double Checked: about 12 years ago

Company email (January 2023)
"In regard to your email we do use casein during the winemaking process. Therefore Cook’s is not considered vegan at this time."

Company email, March 2012:

[Same as the one below]

Company Email, 2010:

"Fining agents are used on a lot-by-lot basis to optimize the quality. Some fining agents contain proteinaceous materials. Proteinaceous fining agents
are used to react with color and/or tannin molecules to make them removable by subsequent filtration. Both the fining agent, the color and/or tannin it reacts with are removed by the filtration process.

All of our fining agents are approved by the Alcohol & Tobacco Tax & Trade Bureau (TTB, formerly the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms)

One of our standard fining agents contains Micronized potassium casseinate [casein is milk protein], food grade gelatin, egg albumin and other food grade components."