Carlsberg Breweries A/S

Some vegan options

1 of 27 products listed are vegan friendly.

  • 1 Vegan
  • 26 Not Vegan

Double checked 7 months ago, first checked January 2007

Products (27)

What the company told us

Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.

Update ·

From their Canada website FAQ (https://www.carlsberg.com/en-ca/better-answers/is-carlsberg-vegan/) "we don't use any animal products in the brewing of our beers"

Company email ·

"We’re not able to help you. We don’t claim any of our products in Carlsberg Danmark as Vegan. We can only refer to the ingredient lists."

Company email ·

"At the moment Gelsol (wich is animal-based) is used to clarife wine production after fermentation and this wine is used in production of Kiss Cider Cherry."

Company email ·

"I’m happy to confirm that Tetley No. 4 lager is free from animal derived ingredients."

Company email ·

"I can confirm that our new Carlsberg Danish Pilsner beer produced here in Northampton by Carlsberg UK contains no animal derived ingredients. We are only able to offer information on products produced here in Northampton by Carlsberg UK."

Company email ·

"For Tetley’s Bitter (draught), some of the beer is made by a contract manufacturer who uses isinglass."

Company email ·

"В процессе фильтрации наша компания использует два вида фильтрационных материалов, а именно: -кизельгур, который производится из горной породы, состоящей преимущественно из останков диатомовых водорослей; и -уголь активированный растительного происхождения. Хотим обратить ваше внимание, на то, что для соблюдения веганской диеты мы рекомендуем вам потреблять пиво в банке или кеге, поскольку для наклейки этикетки на стеклянную бутылку и ПЭТ может использоваться в качестве вспомогательного материала казеиновый клей." [Translation: "In the production of beer Ukraine Sarlsberg company does not use animal products. In the filtering process, our company uses two types of filtration materials, namely: -kizelgur, which is made from rock, consisting mainly of the remains of diatoms; and -the carbon activated vegetable origin. We would like to draw your attention to the fact that compliance with the vegan diet, we recommend you to consume a beer keg in the bank or as a label for a label to a glass bottle and PET can be used as an auxiliary material casein glue."]

Company email ·

"Yes I can confirm the Holsten Alcohol Free is also vegan friendly."

Company email ·

"No isinglass or animal products are being used in the production of Tuborg."

Company email ·

בירת קרלסברג מיוצרת רק מלתת כשות מים ושמרים" הבירה אינה עוברת תהלכי עיבוד בשום מקום בעולם ואינו מיכל מרכיבים אחרים [Translation by Alex] "Carlsberg beers are made only from Humulus lupulus, water, and yeast. The beers are not processed anywhere in the world and do not have any other ingredients."

Company email ·

"We can confirm that no products of animal or fish origin are used in the production of Carlsberg. It is suitable for both vegetarians and vegans."

Company email ·

"We can confirm that there are no animal products used in the production of San Miguel Cerveza and it is therefore suitable for vegetarians and vegans. All San Miguel sold in the UK is brewed under licence by Carlsberg UK. San Miguel is also produced by the Mahou San Miguel brewery in Spain."

Company email ·

"Unfortunately, Carling Zest is not suitable for vegetarians or vegans due to the filteration process it goes through."

Company email ·

"Grundsätzlich sind alle unsere Produkte vegan. Für die Verpackung verwenden wir allerdings handelsübliche kaseinhaltige Leime (z.B. um die Etiketten auf die Flaschen zu kleben). Dies gilt für alle Produkte der Carlsberg Deutschland Gruppe." [Google translation] "Basically, all our products are vegan. For the packaging we use, however, commercial kaseinhaltige glues (eg, the labels on the bottles of glue). This applies to all products of Carlsberg Germany Group."

Company email ·

"Der bruges ikke animalske produkter til produktionen af vores øl." [Translated]: "No animal products are used during the production of our beers."

Company email ·

[Translated and summarized]: "Carlsberg only use hops, malt, water and yeast during the production of our beers, and no gelatin or isinglass."

Company email ·

"Der bruges ikke animalske produkter til produktionen af vores øl." [Translated]: "No animal products are used during the production of our beers."

Company email ·

"We can confirm that the following Carlsberg products are suitable for Vegetarians and Vegans Carlsberg Carlsberg Export Carlsberg Elephant Beer Carlsberg Edge Carlsberg Special Brew Holsten Pils Holsten Export Holsten Super Tuborg Skol (can) Skol Special Skol Super Our cask ales are treated with isinglass finings and are therefore unfortunately not suitable for vegans or vegetarians."

Company email ·

"We can confirm that there are no animal products used in the production of San Miguel Cerveza and it is therefore suitable for vegetarians and vegans. All San Miguel sold in the UK is brewed under licence by Carlsberg UK. San Miguel is also produced by the Mahou San Miguel brewery in Spain."

Company email ·

"We can confirm that in the UK Carlsberg brands (ie Carlsberg, Carlsberg, Export, Carlsberg Special Brew) do not contain any animal products in their recipes and are therefore suitable for vegans. This is also the case for our Tuborg brand which again is suitable for vegans. Isinglass finings are used only in the clarification of some of our cask ales."

Company email ·

"All other Foster beer brands made in Australia are not vegan friendly, including Stella Artois, Carlsberg and Kronenbourg"

Company email ·

[I decided to practice my Swedish with Carlsberg Sverige :) Here's the translation of what he said -Cody] No, no animal products in our beer. Using gelatin as fining agents is very rare in Sweden, but there are sometimes abroad (eg England) to top-fermented dark beer ferments in barrels or clear bottle. This method is not based on any of Carlsberg beers, but these are based exclusively only from malt, hops, yeast and water.

Company email ·

Thanks for your recent enquiry, and re the question I can confirm that we do not use isinglass in Carlsberg Lager.