Magic Hat #9 is Vegan Friendly
|by Magic Hat Brewing Company|
|Address:||5 Bartlett Bay Road
South Burlington, VT, 05403
|Double checked by:||Kelly K, Kevin M, Erin, Veronica, Sarah|
|Added:||about 7 years ago|
Company email (May 2013):
"Our products are vegan except for the cask-conditioned ales (isinglass), and any beer containing honey, both of which would be clearly marked. The beer is produced only in the US."
Company email, April 2011:
"Thanks for writing in. Unlike some breweries, we DO NOT use isinglass to filter our beers. Instead, we use something called diatomaceous earth, which is basically fossilized algae. Our beers are vegan friendly, so have at 'em!"
Company Website: March 2010
"Our beers contain no meats or dairy products. Hard to believe with all that taste! Seriously, though, a lot of breweries use isinglass, or fish bladders, to accelerate the clarification of beer. We use a process which eliminates the need to use a clarifying agent.
Company email: 2009
"Our beers contain no meats or dairy products. Seriously, though, a lot of breweries use isinglass, or fish bladders, to accelerate the clarification of beer. We use a centrifuge which eliminates the need to use a clarifying agent. Toast to science!"
Never give up! Chris Lynch and Kelly Komenda had both written in with news like this:
"OK, the short version is, Magic Hat's Mother Lager is vegan, and a white and wheat beer will also be vegan, but maybe only in a variety pack, so it's mostly the Mother Lager. Everything else is still fish bladder (swim bladder, not pee). The maddening thing is, they say that they'd love to use a centerfuge someday, but won't commit. Mabye if more vegans complain, 'cause I clearly didn't do the trick alone."
Then time passed... In December 2006 Stephanie got this email from the company:
"That is indeed false. And centrifuge is spelled wrong! Seriously though, we now use centrifuge to filter ALL of our beer. Every one of our brews is vegan/vegetarian friendly. I believe Mother Lager was the test brew for the process."
Other products by Magic Hat Brewing Company:
Not Vegan Friendly
Not Vegan Friendly