Macallan Distillery is vegan friendly
|Double checked by:||Jordan, Craig|
|Added:||almost 10 years ago|
|Double Checked:||almost 4 years ago|
Products by Macallan Distillery:
Company email (April 2013):
[Editor's note: Craig verified that "sea shells" as referred to in the March 2012 response would actually be diatomaceous earth, thereby making Macallan vegan-friendly.]
"Diatomaceous earth also known as D.E., diatomite, is a naturally occurring, soft, siliceous sedimentary rock that is easily crumbled into a fine white to off-white powder.
Diatomaceous earth consists of fossilized remains of diatoms, a type of hard-shelled algae. It is used as a filtration aid in the chill filtration process when we make all of our whiskies. This is made into a paper that the whiskies will then be passed through.
As this material is made from fossilised algae it does affect the vegan whisky consumer.
If a whisky is un-chill filtered then you will have no problems with our whiskies."
Company email, March 2012:
Thank you for your enquiry below I have checked with our Master Distiller and he informed me the we use filter sheets which are produced from sea-shells so it would appear Macallan cannot be classed as vegan.
"I can assure you that only Barley, Water and Yeast are used to make The
Macallan. Any colour or flavour is derived purely from the interaction
between the oak cask and our distilled spirit. Any filtering uses purely physical filters and does not use isinglass, gelatine or bone char."
The Macallan is a single malt Scotch whisky.