Harpoon Brewery has some vegan options
|Address:||306 Northern Avenue
Boston, MA, 02210
|Double checked by:||Kevin M, Sarah|
|Added:||almost 7 years ago|
|Double Checked:||almost 3 years ago|
Products by Harpoon Brewery:
Not Vegan Friendly
Company email (October 2011):
"The answer is no to all your questions for our normal production beers like IPA, UFO, etc. In cases where animal products are used, such is noted directly in the name of the beer. I.E. Oyster Stout, Catamount Maple Wheat do not meet your criteria, but all other beers do. No isinglass or gelatin (although cask conditioned beer should always be avoided by vegans as isinglass is commonly used there). We do not subcontract our beer production overseas, and the small amount that is made for us at FX Matt in Utica NY each year is produced to the same specifications as our in-house made beers."
Company email (March 2009):
"At Harpoon, we never use either (isinglass or gelatin) for our normally produced beers, like the draft's you're likely to see or any of our bottled products."
Company email (August 2008):
The only animal products used in beer production (under normal circumstances) is isinglass (which is a dried swim bladder of a tropical fish from the Sea of China) or gelatin. These products are used typically in the production of 'cask' ales, the unfiltered ones served through a beer engine at bars that cater to beer connoisseurs. They're very, very rarely used otherwise, although some brewers will use them to prepare a particularly hazy beer for filtration. At Harpoon we never use either for our normally produced beers, like the draft's you're likely to see in Brooklyn or any of our bottled products.