Sainsbury's Red Cooking Wine is Vegan Friendly

by Sainsbury's Supermarkets Ltd
Address: 33 Holborn
London, EC1N 2HT
Phone: 0800 636 262
Checked by: Sami
Double checked by: Marcus, Ciara, Jessica, Finlay, Alison, Brian, Kayley, Danielle, Tom, Hayley
Added: about 12 years ago

Company email (July 2019)
"I can confirm having talked to our comumications team, that [our Sainsbury's House Merlot 75cl] is vegan friendly."

Yonni notes (April 2018) that the House Shiraz now has a vegan logo on the bottle.

Company email (January 2018) re Taste the Difference Sparking Pinot Rose
"Our Communications team have advised that the product does not contain any ingredients derived from animals, although traces of non suitable for Vegans components may be in contact during production process."

Tom notes (July 2017):
"Bouchard Aîné & Fils Pinot Noir from Sainsbury's according to their website is vegan"

Tom notes (September 2015):
"The 35 South Latitude Pinot Noir is listed as suitable for vegans on their website."

Updated September 2016: Danielle sent in a photo of the House Shiraz, which says it contains milk and eggs. This contradicts what's in their allergy PDF (

Their response upon followup:

"This wine isn't suitable for vegans. All of our own brand wines have the vegan symbol on the back label if no animal products have been used during the wine making process.

"I appreciate your concern that this was still listed on our products guidance list, the ingredients in this product has recently changed and unfortunately this list didn't update to reflect this change. I've updated the relevant team who can look into this further."

Kayley notes (May 2016):

"Wollemi Shiraz Cabernet commonly in Tesco and Sainsburys is not vegan as it contains eggs and milk according to the Sainsburys website."


Added January vegan items from - data pulled Feb 1 2016

Company email (August 2015):
"I've contacted our Communications department and spoke to Mohan. He has confirmed the Sainsbury's Ready to Drink Margarita suitable for Vegans, however the Sainsbury's Ready to Drink Pina Colada isn't suitable for vegans as it contains cream."

Note from reader (December 2015):
Reciente Rioja from Sainsbury's has a vegan mark on the label

Company email (August 2015):
"I have looked into your query, and unfortunately the Sainsbury's House Red wine is not suitable for a vegan diet. This is due to gelatin being used in the filtration process. The product is manufactured in Spain.

"However, currently we have at least 2 other wines that are. These are - Sainsbury's Pinot Grigio, Taste the Difference 75cl, Product Code 6377156 and Sainsbury's Conegliano Prosecco, Taste the Difference 75cl, Product Code 6573987."

Company email (January 2013):
"As this is not one of our own branded products, we have no control over the information which is available on the label and packaging; however, I’m pleased to confirm that the Berryleaf Falls red wine is indeed suitable for vegetarians and vegans."

Company email (December 2012):
"I've double checked and can confirm that this product is suitable for vegans. It may interest you to know that we have a list of our own brand products suitable for vegans available on our website. This is updated monthly and you can view this and our other product guidance lists if you click on the following link;"

Facebook (May 2012):
According to Marcus it says vegan on the label, and according to they pay attention to fining processes in their categorizations.

Company email:
"I have checked all of our systems and Parkin’s special bitter is not suitable for vegans as it does include isinglass. If you require any further information please do not hesitate to get back in touch with us."

Other products by Sainsbury's Supermarkets Ltd: