Campari Cinzano is Not Vegan Friendly

by Gruppo Campari
Address: Via Sacchetti, 20 - 20099 Sest
San Giovanni (MI)
Phone: +39 02 62 25 1
Fax: +39 02 62 25 312
Checked by: Belinda
Double checked by: Brett, Andrea, David, Tracy, Anda, Damián, Giorgiana, Deborah, Jessica, Eran, Plant, Matt, Plant Check
Added: over 2 years ago
Double Checked: 6 months ago

Company email (January 2024)
"Confirming that Cinzano vermouths are not suitable for vegans."

Company email (January 2022)
"All Campari sparkling wines (Cinzano, Riccadonna, Mondoro) are not suitable for vegan at the moment

They do not contain any ingredients of animal origin; nevertheless small amounts of animal gelatin are used during the clarification process and even if the finished products are free of its residues we cannot declare them as suitable for Vegan."

Company email (August 2020)

"Our Vermouths are suitable for Vegetarians but they are not suitable for Vegans due to our filtration process. Our Product is only produced in Italy."

Company email (January 2020)

"Campari is vegetarian, however it is not classified as vegan."

Company email (June 2019) re Espolon Tequila
"There are no animal products used in the process of producing our products."

Company email (February 2018) re Riccadonna:
"Whilst no ingredients of animal origin are used, small quantities of gelatin are used during the clarification process. This means that Riccadonna is not a vegan product."

Company email (November 2017) re Cherry Marnier
"We can assure that Cherry Marnier liqueur is vegan friendly. It doesn't contain any animal ingredients. The filtration is through a cellulose membrane. And there’s only one bottling plant which is at Aubevoye in France (near Paris)."

Company email (February 2017)
"Campari non contiene ingredienti di origine animale, pertanto può essere consumato da persone vegetariane o vegane. Tuttavia, nel processo di produzione sono impiegate piccole quantità di gelatinia animale come coadiuvante tecnologico che vengono comunque rimosse dal prodotto finito durante la fase di chiarifica e filtrazione finale."

[Google translation: "Campari does not contain ingredients of animal origin, so it can be consumed by vegetarians or vegans. However, in the production process they are employed small amounts of gelatinia animal as a technological adjuvant that are in any case removed from the finished product during the stage of clarification and final filtration."]

Updated January 2016: According to Campari ceased to use Carmine in 2006.

Company email (June 2015): (Old Smuggler Whisky)
"Durante la Filtración se utilizan placas filtrantes que están compuestas de celulosa de origen vegetal y diatomeas provenientes de algas marinas, después no hay nada más, el alcohol y la malta son provenientes de cereales, tiene contacto con madera por el añejamiento."
[Translation by Damián] "During filtration, filtering plates are used, that are composed with celulose (vegetal origin), and diatomaceous (from sea weed). There's nothing more. The alcohol and malt, are from cereals, and it has contact with wood for aging."

Company email (April 2015) re OUZO 12:
"vielen Dank für Ihre Email und Ihr Interesse an OUZO 12.
OUZO 12 ist ein veganes Produkt. Hinsichtlich des tierischen Ursprungs
von Verpackungsmaterialien und Materialien in diesem Zusammenhang können
wir jedoch keine Angaben machen."

[Google translation] "Thank you for your email and your interest in OUZO 12th
OUZO 12 is a vegan product. In terms of animal origin
can of packaging materials, and materials in this connection
However, we do not provide."

Company email (January 2015) (from re: Riccadona
"In response to your query I have done some investigating. Unfortunately we do not have any Vegan Brands in our wines portfolio, this means that animal-derived products are used in the winemaking, fining/filtration or maturation process for our Riccadona range"

Company email (November 2013): re: Tequila
"Thank you for taking the time to e-mail us about is your tequila vegan? Our product is Vegan friendly, not Kosher, and has no nut products in it. There are no animal products used in the process of producing"

Company email (February 2012):
"We do not have an official document in English, however we can confirm that Campari products do not contain ingredients of animal origin, exception made for cream based products (Carolans) or containing honey (American Honey, Irish Mist), for which the presence of such typology of ingredient is clearly indicated on the label.

The productive cycle of some products (and among these Sparkling wines, Cinzano vermouths, Campari bitter) foresees the use of gelatin to assit the productive cycle."

October 2011: Barnivore is looking into what products definitely are NOT fined with gelatin.

Company email (December 2011):
"Grand Marnier is in fact 100% vegan."

Company email (October 2011):
"Campari products's portfolio do not use animal ingredients. Exceptions are the products made with cream (Carolans) or containing honey (American Honey,
Irish Mist) for which the presence of this type of ingredient is clearly indicated on the label. The production cycle of certain products (like sparkling wines, Cinzano vermouth, Campari) use small quantities of gelatin as a processing aid; However the clarification and filtration operations are able to ensure an effective removal of them from the finished product."

Company Email:
No animal products are used in the production process of Campari."
When asked what part of the world their answer pertains they wrote: "Thank you for taking the time to e-mail us. Carmine is banned in the US." but as far as Barnivore can figure, it's not banned... it just must be put on the label.

"All Campari purchased through your local bottle shops or sold in bars are clubs throughout Australia that is distributed by Suntory (Aust) Pty Ltd does not contain Carmine.

The only exception to this is in the Duty Free market which uses a different formula (FCA) and contains carmine."

Other products by Gruppo Campari: