Company email (September 2011):
"We do on occasion use egg whites on our red wines for fining, but not our whites or rose wine. When eggs whites are used in fining of red wines, egg whites (Albumin) binds with bitter or astringent tannins & settles to the bottom of the tank. The clean wine is then racked off the lees and no remaining albumin remains in the wine."
Callaway 2009 Special Selection Chardonnay
Vegan
This product is listed as vegan friendly.
What the company told us
Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.
Other products from Callaway Vineyard & Winery
- Callaway 2005 Special Selection Sorella Not Vegan
- Callaway 2008 Special Selection Bella Rosé Vegan
- Callaway 2008 Special Selection Cabernet Sauvignon Not Vegan
- Callaway 2008 Special Selection Dolcetto Not Vegan
- Callaway 2008 Special Selection Grenache Not Vegan
- Callaway 2008 Special Selection Mourvedre Not Vegan
- Callaway 2008 Winemaker's Reserve A.K.A. Not Vegan
- Callaway 2008 Winemaker's Reserve Bella Blanc Vegan
- Callaway 2008 Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon Not Vegan
- Callaway 2008 Winemaker's Reserve Calliope Red Not Vegan