Murphy's Irish Stout

by Heineken - Ireland

Vegan

This product is listed as vegan friendly.

Double checked 2 months ago, first checked January 2009

What the company told us

Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.

Company email ·

"Heineken® and our beers and ciders are made purely from agricultural ingredients. In rare, exceptional cases our beverages are made with food processing aids or colourings which are not suitable for vegetarians or vegans. In these cases, we always label these in accordance with the applicable food and beverage legislation. "At HEINEKEN Ireland Beamish and Murphys are both vegan friendly as we no longer use isinglass in our process."

Company email ·

[On followup from the April 13 entry] "I checked with our Lab & they confirmed that the stouts are now vegan friendly"

Company email ·

"At HEINEKEN Ireland isinglass is used in the production of our stouts, as it has been for centuries. Although it is not present in the final product, we still classify the products as not suitable for vegetarians or vegans."

Company email ·

"The production team have come back and confirmed that both Beamish and Murphys are completely suitable for both vegans and vegetarians."

Company email ·

"At HEINEKEN Ireland isinglass is used in the production of our stouts, as it has been for centuries."

Company email ·

“Finings, a protein - like material, obtained from fish sources, has been used for centuries to clarify beers, particularly those beers which do not undergo filtration. We believe that the finings used to remove brewing yeast from Beamish Stout is completely removed with the yeast (by centrifuging). However, as finings is used in the process, we do not say that Beamish is suitable for vegetarians/ vegans ".

Other products from Heineken - Ireland