Company email (May 2023)
"Hakutsuru Draft Sake are not used any animal-derived ingredients at any point in the production process and in the final product. No any animal-derived fining agents used or otherwise."
Company email (November 2020)
"All Hakutsuru Sake products do not contain any of animal ingredients (such as milk/lactose/casein, eggs, cochineal, honey, animal-derived enzymes, etc) or are not animal products used in the processing/filtration of the product (such as isinglass, gelatin, etc).
"Also, there was not manufactured or bottled anywhere else in the world (by a sub-licensee, for instance) that might use a different processing system, thus making them suitable for vegans."
Company email (April 2013):
"Of course our organic junmai is brewed in the same manner same as other our products. So organic junmai is vegan-friendly."
Company email:
We are pleased to inform you that the following Sakes are "vegan-friendly" in which we do not use any animal foods in any processes;
Hakutsuru Excellent Sake
Hakutsuru Excellent Sake Tanrei Junmai
Hakutsuru Draft Sake
Hakutsuru SAYURI Coarse-filtered Sake
Meanwhile, the following sakes and Plum Wine in our products are not "vegan-friendly" because we use a kind of lacto sugar in their brewing process;
Superior Junmai Ginjo
Premium Junmai Dai Ginjo "SHO-UNE"
Plum Wine
Hakutsuru Draft Sake
Vegan
This product is listed as vegan friendly.
What the company told us
Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.