Becherovka Cordial Herbal Liqueur is Vegan Friendly

by Jan Becher - Karlovarska Becherovka, a.s.
Address: T. G. Masaryka 282/57 360 01
Karlovy Vary
Czech Republic
Phone: (+420) 359 578 142
Fax: (+420) 359 578 177
Checked by: Janet
Double checked by: Göksu, Diana
Added: over 5 years ago
Double Checked: over 2 years ago

Company email (February 2020)

"Sadly for Becherovka it is necessary to use gelatin before the filtration. So Becherovka is not suitable for vegans...

To answer your questions about our other products, yes, they have a different technological procedure, where no gelatin is used, so they are suitable for vegans.

In Lemond and Cordial we use as the colorant caramel and for KV14 also the colorant E124 (red).

Becherovka Unfiltered is also suitable for vegans, no gelatin is used for the production."

Company email (February 2017)
" gelatin is used in the process of production, I can recommend to taste Becherovka. In the coming years, gelatin may be used in the process, so please verify the status before consumption. But, we produce another 3 products in our plant, it is Cordial, KV14 and Lemond. These are completely animal-trace free and will be also in the future."

Company email (March 2016)

"I can confirm, that Becherovka doesn’t contain any animal ingredients. Only small quantity of gelatin is use as clarification agent during production process, but all gelatin is removed by filtration (It´s confirm by external laboratory)." [Barnivore considers the use of gelatin to be non-vegan]

Other products by Jan Becher - Karlovarska Becherovka, a.s.: