James Ready (JR) is Vegan Friendly

by Moosehead Brewery
Address: 89 Main Street West
Saint John, New Brunswick, E2M 3H2
Phone: 1-877-888 BEER (2337)
Email: https://moosehead.ca/contact
URL: http://www.moosehead.ca/
Checked by: Amanda
Double checked by: Steve, Zsanett, Beatrice
Added: over 12 years ago

Company email (November 2019)

"I reached out to our brewing department to get their feedback. They informed me that our filters for our product do not use any animal by-product. Moosehead light is fully vegan friendly, all of our core brands are (Moosehead Lager, Pale Ale, Grapefruit Radler) . We’ve done a few small batch brews with lactose but have always disclosed when we’re using it. Other than that, everything is vegan friendly!"

Company email (March 2018)
"I’ve spoken to our brewing team, and while our beer is not certified vegan, we do not used animal-based ingredients in our core brands (Moosehead Canadian Lager, Moose Light, Alpine, James Ready, Moosehead Radler and our Hop City brands). All our beers are brewed with 4 foundational ingredients: malted barley, water, hops and yeast. We use other ingredients such as wheat as adjuncts, but again, animal products are generally not used in brewing. Further, we do not use animal by-products in our processing or filtration."

Company email (July 2015) re: Cracked Canoe
"The ingredients in our beer are: barley malt we get from IMC in Winnipeg, corn(syrup) we get from Casco in Ontario, hops we get from Steiner (out of Germany or Washington State), yeast our own blend (which is top secret) and water from the city of Saint John which is filtered here at our plant."

Phone conversation about James Ready:
"They didn't respond to my email, so I called them. I got sent to an answer machine and basically read what you suggest asking in the email. I got a call back a couple of days later saying that they had confirmed with the brewery that no animal products are present in the product or processing and that it was safe to list as vegan."

Company email about Moosehead:
Thank you for your inquiry. We are happy to say that we do not use animal products in any of our brands of beer. The ingredients are malt, corn, hops and water. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any further questions or comments. As one of the country's few remaining independent brewers, your support means a lot to us.

Other products by Moosehead Brewery: