Schlafly Oatmeal Stout (bottle and keg) is Vegan Friendly

by The Saint Louis Brewery
Address: 7260 Southwest Ave
St. Louis, Missouri, 63143
Phone: 314-241-BEER
Checked by: Anonymous
Double checked by: Gregory, Kevin, Michael, Lysa, Brendan, Nikki
Added: over 10 years ago
Double Checked: about 1 year ago

Company email (May 2023)
"Schlafly Hazy Punch IPA does not contain any animal ingredients or animal products in its production. All Schlafly brand beer is produced with-in our prodcution facilities"

Company email (December 2020)
"We only use apple juice, water, sugar and yeast to produce our Proper Cider. For the Apple Pie cider, nutmeg and cinnamon are added and for the Raspberry we add raspberry concentrate. All of our Proper Ciders are vegan."

Note from Lysa (December 2013):
"Many of Schlafly's offerings are vegan, but sadly the Christmas Ale is not.

From the website:

"Our Christmas Ale is a warming winter ale that blends the spices of the season with sweet caramel malt. Orange peel, juniper berries, ginger root, cardamom and cloves are added for spiciness. We use honey in the fermentation process, which raises the ABV without producing too much heat from the alcohol content.""

Company email:
"Thanks for the good words about our beer. I can confirm that we do not use any animal products for all our bottled and kegged beer.

The only exception is one of our beers on tap at our Brewpub the Taproom which dispenses ale from a cask (as opposed to a keg). This beer has not been filtered but has been 'fined' (brewer's term for clarified) with an agent called isinglass that is of animal origin. This follows traditional british brewing pratice."

Email 2:
"We do not use any animal product in any of our beer at this point in time."

Company FAQ page:
"Which Schlafly Beers are vegan?
None of our production beers in bottles use any animal products. None of our draft beer available anywhere uses animal products. Ergo, no Schlafly beer uses any animal products in the brewing production.

That being said, many years ago we used isinglass to clarify our cask-conditioned ales, but have changed practices and no longer use it. If you find yourself at The Schlafly Tap Room, the only place that serves Schlafly cask-conditioned real ale, you can ask if the casks were produced using isinglass. We'll let the bartenders know if this changes.

We do not use honey in any of our beers, unless it's called Honey Wheat or something like that."

Other products by The Saint Louis Brewery: