Stewart Edinburgh Gold (bottle/can/keg) is Vegan Friendly

by Stewart Brewing Ltd.
Address: 26a Dryden Road
Bilston Glen Ind Estate, Loanhead, EH20 9LZ
Phone: +44 (0)131 440 2442
Checked by: Russell
Double checked by: Sam, Simon, Grant, Russell, Rory, Russell, Martin, Phil
Added: over 10 years ago
Double Checked: 3 months ago

Company email (April 2024)
"You'll be glad to hear almost all of our Bottles & Cans are Vegan friendly barr a couple of Stouts & Hazy beers that we've used Lactose in for body, but they will have it clearly marked in bold on the can and the website,

As for the Finings you'll be happy to hear for beer going into bottles & cans we only use the Cellebrite which is a seaweed based fining agent and Vegan friendly,

Although our Casks & Mini Casks are still treated with Isinglass which is the fish based finings that are the most common cause of Beer & Wine not being Vegan friendly,

So yes Keg/Bottles/Cans almost all Vegan friendly unless it mentions Milk/Lactose in bold on that label, and Casks almost always not Vegan friendly,"

Company email (July 2022)
"The only beer in our current range sold in ALDI that is not vegan is Mallow Magic as it contains lactose."

Company email (October 2021)
"Yes the majority of our bottle/can range is all vegan.
However, some of them do contain lactose which of course isn’t vegan so you’ll just need to watch out for that.
Beers that come in bottles or cans will have any dietary’s on the label, be it Lactose or Gluten based ingredients."

Company email (October 2021)
"The advice is the same as it was previously. The majority of our beers in bottle, can and keg are suitable for vegans, except where lactose is added. Unfortunately our cask beer is not suitable for vegans."

Company email (October 2021)
"I’m afraid we do use isinglass in our casks, so they’re not suitable for vegans sadly."

Company email (July 2021)"
"There are a few exceptions with our Project 7 beers ( limited edition ones) some of them have lactose added. But these will always be stated on the label as Lactose is also an allergen."

Company email (December 2016):
"All our cask beers aren’t vegan friendly. Our bottled, can and keg beers are vegan friendly. All the beers produced in our small kit, The Craft Beer Kitchen, are not vegan friendly. Basically for vegan friendly beers stick to Stewart Brewing bottles, cans and kegs."

Company email (February 2016):
"All of our bottles are vegan. Our cask beer is not. Our keg beer varies, Edinburgh Gold, Hollyrood and Franz lager are not vegan. But all our other keg beer is. However we are soon moving away from finings in keg beer so in the next few months all our keg beer will also be vegan."

Company email(November 2013):
"All our cask products contain isinglass but none of our bottled products do."

Company email (October 2013):
"Our cask and keg products have been fined with a product containing isinglass but this process is missed out when bottling. Therefore our bottles are all vegan but none of our cask and keg are!"

Other products by Stewart Brewing Ltd.: