Stone Brewing Co has some vegan options

Address: 1999 Citracado Parkway
Escondido, California, 92029
Checked by: Keri
Double checked by: Pippi, Jordan, Theresa, Aaron, Richard, Kayla, Blythe, Nicholas, John
Added: over 17 years ago
Double Checked: over 5 years ago

Products by Stone Brewing Co:

Company email (November 2018)
"Our beers are nearly all vegan-friendly since we do not use any animal-derived clarifying agents or process ingredients. We do occasionally brew with lactose, in which case it will be indicated on the beer label and webpage. The one non-vegan beer available right now would be Xocoveza which contains lactose, but all the other current offerings are vegan-friendly!"

Company email (September 2018)
"Nearly all of our beers are vegan, in fact, since we don't use any animal-derived fining agents or process ingredients. The only exceptions would be the occasional beers that contain lactose, and that will be indicated on the label."

Company email (September 2017)
"Most of our beers, including Ripper, are made without animal-derived ingredients and processing agents. We use a seaweed-based clarifying agent in all of our beers. Any beers that contain lactose in the recipe will say so on the bottle (near the barcode). Any beers made with honey will also be labeled as such."

Company email (October 2016):
"Our beers are typically vegan friendly as we do not use animal derived processing ingredients (we use carrageenan and minerals for clarification, no isinglass or gelatin). We have brewed specialty beers with lactose and honey in the past, so those would be ingredients to look out for. The beers that contain lactose are Coffee Milk Stout, Mocha IPA and Xocoveza, as well as a few other specialty beers that you are unlikely to see on store shelves anymore. The lactose warning is located near the barcode if anyone wants to check a specific beer. Honey is usually indicated on the front lower part of the beer’s label, as in “Ale brewed with honey.” The only beer you may encounter right now that is brewed with honey is the 20th Anniversary Citracado IPA. Finally, the only places that brew Stone beer are our own facilities in Escondido, Liberty Station, Richmond and Berlin, and all are made with the same ingredients and process materials at differing locations."

Richard notes (October 2016):
"I purchased an assorted pack from Stone Brewing today, and their description (on the box) of the 20th Anniversary Citracado IPA says that it contains 'avocado flower honey'."

Company email (September 2014):
"This beer [Xocoveza Milk Stout] does have lactose in it so I would advise against trying this particular beer if you aren’t allowed to have milk unfortunately."

Company email (November 2013):
"All of our beers, including the Suede Imperial Porter, are lactose-free. Suede is made with organic avocado honey, so it might not be vegan-friendly to many. Besides that, all of our other beers are vegan-friendly."

Company email (October 2012):
"You’ll be delighted to know that all of our beers are vegan-friendly. Anytime we include ingredients beyond hops, barley, water and yeast, we’ll list it on our bottles. Typically we’re adding things like chipotle peppers and vanilla beans, but you may want to inspect them none the less. For clarification we use whirlfloc, a kelp derivative, instead of isinglass. We use perlite in our filtration, which is an amorphous volcanic glass.

Also, none of our beers are produced in any other part of world. As it stands, all of our beer is made here in Escondido, CA."

Company email (August 2011):
"We are very proud of the fact that our beer is vegan and we are always happy to confirm with like-minded individuals such as yourself. We use vegan kelp-based whirlfloc to clarify the beer and Haborlite, an inert mineral powder, to filter the beer. The rest is just water, barley, yeast and hops."

Company email:
Keri, thanks for the email and the kind words about our beers. We never get tired of hearing from the people out there that are passionate enough about our beers that they take the time to write and tell us how they feel...especially when they ask good questions. Yes, are beers and the processes we use are totally vegan. In fact, our former Head Brewer of nine years was in fact a vegan!

Double Check email:
You will be pleased to know that our beer is 100% vegan compatible. So there's no need to defect to a lesser beer. The fining agent we use for our beer is a protein-binding agent derived from kelp. No cow hooves, no fish guts, no bad karma points for you. Now, occasionally, craft brewers such as ourselves may tinker around with small specialty batches and add various goodies like spices, fruit, and from time to time honey (although I don't recall that we've ever used it), but that would be explicitly stated. Otherwise, our beers are made strictly with water, grain, hops, and yeast (a member of the fungus kingdom, mind you). So here's to your health and that of our creaturely brethren (and sistren). Cheers!