Brewdog Beer has some vegan options

Address: Balmacassie Industrial Estate, Ellon
Aberdeenshire, AB41 8BX
Scotland
Phone: +44 (0) 1346 519 009
Fax:
Email: hello@brewdog.com
URL: https://www.brewdog.com/uk/
Checked by: Charlotte
Double checked by: Meindert, Jukka, Kine, Dan, Sian, Jonathon, Craig, Martyn, Owen, John, Neil, Andrew, Amberley, Craig, Dan, David, Bob, Oliver, Lucy
Added: over 11 years ago
Double Checked: 3 months ago

Products by Brewdog Beer:

Company email (July 2021)
"So our 500 cuts of Rum is not vegan certified but there’s only plant based ingredients in the recipe :D! As such, it would be up to the individuals judgement. "

Company email (June 2021)
" I've been informed we don't use isinglass for filtration and the spirits are all vegan friendly. Ingredients for our rum can be found on the product page "white rum with Tonka beans, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and spices; the remainder is pot-distilled with an abundance of fresh orange peel, Schezuan peppercorn, green cardamom and cloves. ""

Company website (June 2021)
https://brewdog.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/11000094242-are-brewdog-beers-vegan-friendly-

"Most of the beers we brew here at BrewDog are vegan friendly, because we do not use animal-based finings in our beer. The exception are beers that contain speciality ingredients such as lactose and honey. We will always state on the label if these have been added in our ingredients list or you can check out the product description page brewsheets on our website!"

Company email (June 2021)

"I'm happy to confirm that the new Lost Lager recipe is also vegan"

Company email (November 2020)

"Yes I can confirm that the new ALD IPA is vegan friendly :) "

Dan notes (November 2020) that the web listing for Urban Orchard Cider says "Suitable for Vegans and Coeliacs"

Company email (March 2020)

"So most of the beers we brew here at BrewDog are vegan friendly, because we do not use animal-based finings in our beer. The exception are beers that contain speciality ingredients such as lactose and honey. We will always state on the label if these have been added in our ingredients list or you can check out the Brewsheets on our website!"

From their website (http://brewdog.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/11000036020-what-beers-do-you-do-that-are-vegan-friendly-, retrieved March 2020)

"Our beers contain all natural ingredients and flavours which are vegan friendly! We do not use any artificial additives or chemicals. All of our Headliner and Amplified range are vegan friendly, except for Jet Black Heart with contains lactose.

"On our website there is a lowdown of each beer, and from the description it will mention if any extra things have been thrown in ! All ingredients are also included on the bottle."

[Accordingly, we've updated the listing based on their current web details.]

Craig notes (May 2019) that Punk AF is brewed with lactose, according to https://www.brewdog.com/punk-af-4-x-cans

Company email (March 2019)
"...[Opaque Jake and Quench Quake are] vegan, yes!"

Company email (September 2018)
"YES - Lost Lager is vegan friendly :)"

Company email (December 2017)
"Our Gin doesn't contain any animal ingredients at all, neither does out Vodka

"We will soon be doing a canned espresso martini which will contain Milk but none of our other products do

"We only manufacture our Gin, from scratch, in our distillery in Ellon, Scotland"

Company email (August 2017)
"Happy to report that Nanny State is one of our vegan friendly beers"

Owen notes (August 2016) that the majority of Brewdog beers have the Vegan Society logo on the label, with the exception of Jet Black Heart, Dogma and Electric India.

Company email (June 2016) in regards to Elvis Juice:
"Elvis Juice does not contain any animal products. We use a centrifuge to filter our beer. Elvis Juice is registered with the Vegan Society and label has the Vegan Society logo on it. You can find our vegan registered beers here: https://www.vegansociety.com/search/products?search_api_views_fulltext=&search_api_views_fulltext_1=brewdog&created=&include_brand_company=TRUE"

Company email (February 2015):
"Our beers contain all natural ingredients and flavours which are vegan friendly! We do not use any artificial additives or chemicals.
All of our Headliner and Amplified range are vegan friendly, except for Dogma, Jet Black Heart and Electric India.

"I do not have a complete list to hand of every single vegan friendly beer so I would check out the style and flavourings of the beers before you purchase.

"On our website there is a lowdown of each beer, and from the description it will mention if any extra things have been thrown in ! All ingredients are also included on the bottle."

Company email (January 2015):
Q: "I was wondering if you would be able to tell me if your lager is suitable for vegetarians and or vegans?"
A: "Yes it is"

Company email (March 2014):
"Bacon was used in the kettle while we brewed the beer so Lumberjack is one of our few beers that is not suitable for vegetarians."

Note from Sian and company email (March 2014):
"Update for you on Brewdog beers: their Lumberjack Breakfast Stout was brewed using bacon (I have no idea how!). They weren't advertising the fact it wasn't vegetarian when I was in their Manchester bar a few days ago -- the bartender just casually mentioned it after I'd already tried some! -- but they're going to contact all their bars and remind them to make it clear in future.

I also double-checked if they had any other beers which weren't vegetarian or vegan, and they said:
All our core range is vegan and vegetarian friendly and the only beer we produce regularly that is not vegan friendly is Dogma, as it contains honey. Some of our one off and special brews sometimes contain ingredients like lactose or honey but these are included on bottle labels and should be displayed in our bars."

Update via Twitter (August 2013):
[https://twitter.com/brewdog/status/369763890252353536]
"There are a couple of exceptions due to the use of honey etc, but all core range are vegan. We don't do cask."

Company email (January 2013): [specifically in regard to Punk IPA bottles]
"Yes this is suitable for vegans."

Company email (January 2011):
"Our Bottled beers and Keg Beers are both suitable for Vegans as they contain water, malt, yeast and water. Our Cask Products contain Finings (as the settling agent) which have a fish derivative. "

Company email (July 2010):
"Yes all bottles and kegs are vegan. Cask Beer, through the traditional hand pump contains isinglass finings which lets the unfiltered product settle in the cask."

Company email:
"No sorry none of our beers are vegan friendly."